The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: The Dewk on March 16, 2011, 02:33:28 PM

Title: Clarify something for my friend and I please....
Post by: The Dewk on March 16, 2011, 02:33:28 PM
Okay. I was trying to figure out how to explain this question, but I realized it'll be simpler if I just use an example:

Quickbeam (6C33) text says that for every ent/unbound hobbit one spots, he is that much cheaper. Do hobbit/ent allies count towards this? Or just companions?

That's it. Clarification would be great, o ye wise ones.

Title: Re: Clarify something for my friend and I please....
Post by: Tbiesty on March 16, 2011, 02:35:48 PM
Any Ent counts (including Ent allies), but only unbound Hobbit companions (since allies are not unbound) count.
Title: Re: Clarify something for my friend and I please....
Post by: The Dewk on March 16, 2011, 02:43:17 PM
Thanks! Yet that's strange... what indicates that hobbit allies are unbound, but ent allies are not..?
Title: Re: Clarify something for my friend and I please....
Post by: hrcho on March 16, 2011, 02:43:29 PM
Only companions can be ring-bound or unbound. Note that that also means you can't use Gorgoroth Assassin or Over the Isen to assign your minions to allies if they are allowed to skirmish.

For example:

You as the shadow player are controlling a site and the fellowship is currently on Ring of Isengard. Treebeard, Earthborn is allowed to be assigned to skirmish at this site, but you can't use Over the Isen to assign your [dunland] Man to Treebeard, Earthborn because he is not unbound (or a companion for that matter).
Title: Re: Clarify something for my friend and I please....
Post by: The Dewk on March 16, 2011, 02:44:53 PM
Gotcha. Only companions are bound/unbound. Allies don't apply. Cool. Thanks!
Title: Re: Clarify something for my friend and I please....
Post by: hrcho on March 16, 2011, 02:45:03 PM
Thanks! Yet that's strange... what indicates that hobbit allies are unbound, but ent allies are not..?

Quicbeam's text doesn't say to spot an unbound ent, just ent. It does, however, say to spot an unbound hobbit.
Title: Re: Clarify something for my friend and I please....
Post by: The Dewk on March 16, 2011, 02:48:03 PM
Oh, but wait- the examples you used (Gorgoroth Assassin or Over the Isen) specifically speak about companions. Is there a rule/official statement that says that the bound/unbound status doesn't apply to allies?  
Title: Re: Clarify something for my friend and I please....
Post by: Tbiesty on March 16, 2011, 02:50:30 PM
From the rulebook:

Ring-bound
Only companions can be Ring-bound (not allies or
minions).

unbound
Only companions can be unbound (not allies or
minions).
Title: Re: Clarify something for my friend and I please....
Post by: The Dewk on March 16, 2011, 03:22:18 PM
Beautiful! Thanks so much.