The Last Homely House
Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Gil-Estel on May 11, 2008, 04:37:52 AM
-
Held (http://lotrtcgdb.com/pages/LOTR06109.html) is imho a rather good card, especially when you run a beatdown shadow and walk behind the other fellowship. But now a friend of mine pointed out the combination between Frodo, Frenzied Fighter (http://lotrtcgdb.com/pages/LOTR13149.html) and Held (http://lotrtcgdb.com/pages/LOTR06109.html). Is this possible? Cause that would mean that Frodo is near to unkillable! Has there been some sort of erratum? I can't find the CRD anymore, so please enlighten me!
-
I would assume, given the nature of the text of the card ie "Frodo is corrupted", that he would need to be the RB for it to be OK.
Unless a companion is considered corrupted by having 0 resistance, in which case, it would mean he merely has 0 resistance at site 9.
I believe the former to be more likely.
-
I do not have the rules in front of me but I think that corrupted is used only for the ring-bearer.
-
but is there some one how does know the exact drill, because we're all guessing right now....
-
http://decipher.fanhq.com/Resources/PDF/LOTR-CRD_081307.pdf
Mentions nothing about held. I know there has been clarification on it however, but i cant remember what it is. Obviously frodo doesnt get corrupted cos he isnt the RB but im not sure what exactly happens. I would assume as a default that you do as much as you can on the card. So it all applies except the corrupt bit.
-
and if so, it is an awesome card!
-
My efforts to find any official clarification on this have failed. I agree with lem0n, do as much as you can, its like a Shadowfax for Frodo.
-
I belive there was a clarification that stated frodo must be the RB for it to work but will have to dig on the net to find it again for the ppl that want actual documentation
-
I want that....go ahead, make my day and say that there isn't any....An unkillable Frodo is too good ;)
-
I was pretty sure Held was clarified to Frodo having to be the Ring-bearer as well. Unfortunately the Decipher forums are down so there goes that rulings archive.
Besides the Frenzied Fighter business (run it while you can!), I think it's a horrible card. Mwahaha! :twisted: Unless it's stocked specifically to counter... Dark as Darkness decks? The bit of insurance seems outweighed by the need to kill it yourself, plus it can complicate a ring-toss.
-
Sounds pretty cool to me. I am very curious to see if it works. :popcorn: :popcorn:
-
Yeah, I remember something being said about a clarification like that, too.
And it's not really a horrible card. You can discard it like any normal condition, just pack condition-discarding that doesn't exclusively target Shadow cards. Kingsfoil is a really obvious one. Or you can just be so powerful that you knock off any enemies pre-regroup.
-
Hm....now I'm wishing I hadn't traded away Held. Darn it.
-
I have a couple of Helds for trade, if anyone wants them. :mrgreen:
-
Sorry to bump an old thread, but with the card held being mentioned and a considerable number of new members maybe someone can recover the clarification about held and Frenzied Fighter?
-
LOL [-X give up Heije... even if D didn't specifically said you couldn't play it on frodo, FF, it's obvious that no one should be able to play it. It's common sense :up:
-
Well it depends, common sense or looking for ways to abuse certain things to the max :twisted: and before you start to reply on every topic, please reply my PM, you lazy brasilian beachloving criminal!
-
Gee, ur right!! I read them, but still didn't repply yet! I'm gonna do it right now, you crazy dreadful geography teacher abuser of decipher's flaws!!!
-
geography? get your homework done! it is history!! I'm just very good in geography, hehehe, well topography I guess, I know fairly well where to locate almost every country in the world. Seriously (looking for compliments)
-
geography? get your homework done! it is history!! I'm just very good in geography, hehehe, well topography I guess, I know fairly well where to locate almost every country in the world. Seriously (looking for compliments)
Wow!!! Cool :up: !!
(https://lotrtcgwiki.com/forums/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.nataliedee.com%2F012908%2Fself-esteem-is-awesome.jpg&hash=46163c268a56fd738e97b9678de8490cff8cc37d)
oops! ... on a second thought...
(https://lotrtcgwiki.com/forums/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2F2.bp.blogspot.com%2F_Ink_wSsKtVQ%2FSM1wS6mLwHI%2FAAAAAAAAC5o%2Fz8U7457XZrU%2Fs400%2Fyou_suck1.jpg&hash=7915b505955eadb275b7339d3cd1ebf5fa1a512a)
:hey:
PS.: How's that for a compliment?
-
Great, but still no deckreview from you!! Hurry! Saturday is my tournament, and I want the opinion of the most experienced Brasilian player (rolling eyes)
-
IMHO If there's no errata or appearance in Xlists you should be able to play it.
Aside from the rule of "cannot have 2 RB in play", I don't think there's such a card category as "only can be played if frodo is your RB".
I'm not relying on any crd phrase (and I don't think there will be any covering that for now), but based on when D decided RBs could not cancel anymore, in cards such as Frodo's cloak or Elbereth whatever, you just ignored the cancelling part of the text.
In resume, I'm saying, nice combo and yeah go for that immortal frodo :up: (you would be ignoring the "Frodo is corrupted part") -it's not like you are getting away with something for free because after all you are adding burdens.
-
Which are easily removed by your freaky Bilbo ;)
-
Hi
I can not stand.. I... - have... - to.... -say.... -it...: Held is not that good! And you can not play held and frodo on the tournamnet on satuday anyway, can you?
I have to ask a question, and I think I have already post it, but I am not sure about your reactions.
If a Sam is the ringbearer, because Frodo died, may I play Frodo, with the key-word ringbearer, with borne far away, although there is already a ring-bearer in play?
-
No, versions of Frodo with the Ringbearer keyword may not be played except as your starting RB.
-
I think the idea of using Held is really promising and I want to hear the frog's experience of trying it (off course, it needs burden removal -but that seems to be under control-).
I couldn't help to notice and inquire that regarding that same part, it says When the fellowship moves to site 9
, however (and this is because I am a movie block player..) it wasn't created with a twotower symbol next to site9.
Does the fellowship actually arrive to that site?
In movie block site path, the fellowship never arrives to just plain "site9". Exception cards like Final Strike have a statement that clearifies "any site 9".
-
From the Comprehensive Rulebook 4.0, page 21:
HELD 6 R 109
The “site 9” referred to on this card is any site 9 card from any block.
-
Well I tried a deck once, this was in debate with Mc Tono, who was so friendly to share his thoughts with me, as we do a lot, about this card. It is an awesome addition to the regular Bilbo, Sam and Frodo deck. Sam en Bilbo do their tricks with the burdens and Frodo can't be killed, which is great. So please tell me why that isn't any good, Elrohir?
I can't play it in the tournament saturday, will have other lethal decks ;D....haha
-
but why that? Just try to discard it before site nine. You can easily discard your own conditions. BUT as I know: The text exactly says ''corrupted'' and this is an specific keyword, only used for the ringbearer, it is not the same as Killed or discarded, so, this has no effect on an non-ringbearer frodo. It cannot. Hope that clarifies the situation mate ;)
-
http://lotrtcgdb.com/community/viewtopic.php?t=1626
good ol' bib