The Last Homely House
Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Yrael on July 14, 2011, 08:34:35 PM
-
My brother and I have a disagreement on the meaning of cards like arrow from the south. When it says heal (or wound) a character X times, must all of this healing (or wounding) be placed on the same character?
I am pretty sure that they are be placed on different characters (for example, being able to heal multiple copies of Southron Bowman with Arrow from the South), I didn't see a specific mention of this in the rulebook, however.
-
I'm pretty sure arrow from the south can heal multiple archers.
-
Arrow from the south can heal multiple archers multiple times, i.e. if you have am exerted Southern Bowman and an exhausted Desert Lord, you can heal all three wounds with three tokens on Arrow From The South. A twist is, cards like Aragorn's Pipe or Might Of Numenor can only heal 1 wound from X companions due to the wording. (heal x companions; as opposed to: heal a companion for each)
-
My brother and I have a disagreement on the meaning of cards like arrow from the south. When it says heal (or wound) a character X times, must all of this healing (or wounding) be placed on the same character?
I am pretty sure that they are be placed on different characters (for example, being able to heal multiple copies of Southron Bowman with Arrow from the South), I didn't see a specific mention of this in the rulebook, however.
I don't think you really answered his question.
From the text on Arrow from the South, you can only heal 1 companion for each token on there, since the text says "Heal a [raider] archer for each token," not "heal X wounds for X tokens on here."
-
There are different ways this could be worded, each with slightly different meanings:
1) "Heal a [Raider] archer X times, where X is the number of [Raider] tokens here. Discard this condition."
This would mean you could only choose 1 archer and heal that guy X times.
2) "Heal X [Raider] archers, where X is the number of [Raider] tokens here. Discard this condition."
This would mean that you couldn't choose an archer to heal more than 1 wound. Even if you have 3 tokens and 6 tokens, you could only heal each archer once and that would be it.
3) "Heal a [Raider] archer for each [Raider] token here. Discard this condition."
Now here, you get to choose who to heal at each point which means you can heal any number of archers any number of times up to the number of tokens. Certainly, this is the most flexible of these three abilities.
Hope that helps.
Thran
-
I think the key to Arrow From the South is the "for each" rule:
When an effect wounds (or exerts or heals) characters using the phrase “for each,” you may wound (or exert or heal) a character more than once. (See toil.)
Aragorn, Wingfoot says, “Each time the fellowship moves, you may wound a minion for each unbound Hobbit you spot.” If you spot two unbound Hobbits, you may wound two minions each once or one minion twice.
Adding to Thran's breakdown of X examples: Might of Numenor ("Heal X companions...") can't heal a single companion multiple times; Terrible and Evil ("...to wound a minion X times.") can't wound multiple minions.
-
Thanks a lot guys.