The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: plnp123 on August 10, 2011, 02:52:23 PM

Title: Pippin Guard of Minas Tirth
Post by: plnp123 on August 10, 2011, 02:52:23 PM
I have a problem with Pippin, Guard of Minas Tirth 's text. I think its a case of very bad wording

To play, spot a [GONDOR] Man. Skirmish: Discard 4 cards from hand to wound a minion Pippin is skirmishing twice if that minion bears a fortification.

i was using him as follows
If the minion skirmishing Pippin does not bear a fortification, then i shall discard 4 cards and wound him once
otherwise if the minion does bear a fort, then i would wound him twice.
Is that correct? or does only the second interpretation is.
Nevertheless the guy who wrote that may need some grammar classes
Thanks in advance!
Title: Re: Pippin Guard of Minas Tirth
Post by: macheteman on August 10, 2011, 03:33:25 PM
no, that is not correct. he only wounds twice. if they don't bear a fortification, no wounds.
Title: Re: Pippin Guard of Minas Tirth
Post by: Air Power on August 10, 2011, 03:51:03 PM
I agree with macheteman.  If it did what plnp described, it would be worded " . . . wound a minion Pippin is skirmishing once, or twice if that minion bears a fortification" or something like that
Title: Re: Pippin Guard of Minas Tirth
Post by: azogsbane on August 10, 2011, 05:24:28 PM
Macheteman and Air Power are definitely correct.
Title: Re: Pippin Guard of Minas Tirth
Post by: SomeRandomDude on August 10, 2011, 06:13:01 PM
"Discard 4 cards from hand to wound a minion Pippin is skirmishing twice if that minion bears a fortification."

Grammar to the rescue. If it meant what you thought it meant, there would be an extra comma between "skirmishing" and "twice."

"Discard 4 cards from hand to wound a minion Pippin is skirmishing, twice if that minion bears a fortification."

As is, macheteman is correct. A bit ambiguous, but familiarity with rules of grammar clear it up.
Title: Re: Pippin Guard of Minas Tirth
Post by: plnp123 on August 10, 2011, 06:20:33 PM
Yeah the comma makes the difference... Thanks for the response! although I still think that the grammar wasn't very good XD
Title: Re: Pippin Guard of Minas Tirth
Post by: menace64 on August 10, 2011, 10:18:18 PM
It's less an issue of grammar and more to do with how Decipher worded cards before Pippin was written. How it should have been:

"Discard 4 cards from hand to wound a minion Pippin is skirmishing twice (if that minion is bearing a fortification)."
Title: Re: Pippin Guard of Minas Tirth
Post by: Templar on August 13, 2011, 06:04:03 AM
Oooor "If Pippin is skirmishing a minion bearing a fortification, you may discard 4 cards to wound that minion twice. You win the game."