The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: MarcinS on August 22, 2011, 01:58:51 AM

Title: Two questions on required actions
Post by: MarcinS on August 22, 2011, 01:58:51 AM
I have two questions:
1. The comprehensive rules state: "If two or more required actions are occurring at the same time (for example, more than one “start of turn” action), the Free Peoples player decides in which order they occur." My question is - does the player choose the order first and then resolves them one by one, or chooses which one to resolve first, resolve it, choose second one, etc.?
2. The comprehensive rules state: "If a player loses a game and there are at least two other players remaining (...) The other players complete the losing player’s turn." Who chooses the order of the multiple required actions in case, when the fellowship player is eliminated?
Title: Re: Two questions on required actions
Post by: macheteman on August 22, 2011, 06:12:32 AM
i'm giving you some gold for this pair of questions. some of the best i've seen in a long time. i do not know the answers, and i seriously doubt that the search function will be any help.

sorry i can't be of more assistance, but i'm sure some of the more experienced players can help answer these.

-mm
Title: Re: Two questions on required actions
Post by: MarcinS on August 22, 2011, 06:15:25 AM
Well, I've hit those, when I was implementing the LotRO game... I guess, I'll do whatever for now, and just fix it, when I get a proper answer.
Title: Re: Two questions on required actions
Post by: Air Power on August 22, 2011, 07:23:23 AM
Not an official answer, but for Q1 I think the phrase "decides in which order they occur" mirrors the skirmish phrase (important part bolded)

"When the assignment phase is complete, each
defending character will fight in a separate
skirmish phase. In an order decided by the Free
Peoples player
, skirmishes are resolved one at a
time by conducting a skirmish phase for each.
Once a skirmish phase has finished, the Free
Peoples player must select
another defending
companion (one who is still assigned to a
minion), and perform another skirmish phase."

The skirmish phase one is more explicit, but since the rules use similar language (an order determined by vs chooses the order) I think they should be consistent.
Title: Re: Two questions on required actions
Post by: MarcinS on August 22, 2011, 07:25:31 AM
Not an official answer, but for Q1 I think the phrase "decides in which order they occur" mirrors the skirmish phrase (important part bolded)

"When the assignment phase is complete, each
defending character will fight in a separate
skirmish phase. In an order decided by the Free
Peoples player
, skirmishes are resolved one at a
time by conducting a skirmish phase for each.
Once a skirmish phase has finished, the Free
Peoples player must select
another defending
companion (one who is still assigned to a
minion), and perform another skirmish phase."

The skirmish phase one is more explicit, but since the rules use similar language (an order determined by vs chooses the order) I think they should be consistent.

Thanks, that makes a lot of sense, now that you put it down.