The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: drj0000 on September 02, 2011, 10:55:41 PM

Title: Each time....
Post by: drj0000 on September 02, 2011, 10:55:41 PM
so Bold men and grim can you use that ability only when they are going to die from natural fighting
or could you say use a whirling strike and then use that ability.  each time a companion is aboutl to be killed, you can't state that from the card and then play an event to cause it right?
Title: Re: Each time....
Post by: Air Power on September 03, 2011, 12:33:38 AM
The card doesn't make reference to a skirmish or even the skirmish phase, so I think you can use it once each time a companion is about to be killed.  This includes dying from wounds assigned in the maneuver phase, the archery phase, and, yes, the skirmish phase, regardless of whether those wounds came from events, archery, conditions, or being defeated in a skirmish.
Title: Re: Each time....
Post by: Yrael on September 03, 2011, 06:45:14 AM
Any time, no matter what. If a character is about to die (even if they do something to place him in the discard pile instead, like smeagol does sometimes) you get to activate that text.
Title: Re: Each time....
Post by: drj0000 on September 03, 2011, 07:35:22 AM
very nice
Title: Re: Each time....
Post by: MarcinS on September 03, 2011, 08:30:23 AM
Any time, no matter what. If a character is about to die (even if they do something to place him in the discard pile instead, like smeagol does sometimes) you get to activate that text.
I don't think discarding a companion will trigger this card, as it clearly says "Killed", which translates to be put into Dead pile. So in case of some FP player trick to put character into discard instead of getting killed, FP player has first option to play an action for "Is about to be killed" and if they use their replacement, the effect of being killed is cancelled and you can't play your optional (with "may") card that has "Is about to be killed", as the card is no longer being killed.

From comprehensive rules:
"Some responses are performed when a described situation is “about to” happen. Typically, only one such response can be performed in a given situation, because its effect will “prevent” that situation or replace it with another effect “instead.”"
Title: Re: Each time....
Post by: Yrael on September 03, 2011, 03:48:06 PM
Any time, no matter what. If a character is about to die (even if they do something to place him in the discard pile instead, like smeagol does sometimes) you get to activate that text.
I don't think discarding a companion will trigger this card, as it clearly says "Killed", which translates to be put into Dead pile. So in case of some FP player trick to put character into discard instead of getting killed, FP player has first option to play an action for "Is about to be killed" and if they use their replacement, the effect of being killed is cancelled and you can't play your optional (with "may") card that has "Is about to be killed", as the card is no longer being killed.

From comprehensive rules:
"Some responses are performed when a described situation is “about to” happen. Typically, only one such response can be performed in a given situation, because its effect will “prevent” that situation or replace it with another effect “instead.”"

Thanks for the correction