The Last Homely House
Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Yrael on December 21, 2011, 10:11:36 AM
-
Can I use the One Ring, Ring of Rings in the regroup phase to block Gollum, Dark as Darkness. I know it says until the regroup phase but does that also mean it cannot be put back on in the regroup phase.
Edit: Another question. Does desperate defense of the ring trigger for each minion assigned to skirmish the bearer?
-
You can. Ring goes off at the end of the regroup phase if this happens.
-
Agreed, and yes to your edit
-
Partial disagree on the edit:
"All assignments of characters are on a one-to-one
basis, with the following two exceptions:
• If your assigned companion has the keyword
defender +1, you may assign that character at
this time to one additional unassigned minion.
Defender +2 allows that companion to defend
against two additional unassigned minions, and
so on. A character with defender +2 (or greater)
satisfies any requirement for defender +1.
• When you have informed the Shadow players
that you are done making assignments, they
may assign any leftover unassigned minions
to any companions (even if those companions
are already assigned). The first Shadow player
on your right may assign any of his unassigned
minions, and so on, counter-clockwise around
the table."
The way the AR are describing it, the companion is only being assigned to a skirmish when the FP player does the assignment, so it would trigger for a defender+1 second assignment by FP. However, if the shadow player is assigning an additional minion to an already-assigned companion, the companion is not being assigned to a new skirmish: the new minion is being assigned to a skirmish.
-
I'm confused about ring of rings. The text says, bearer wears the ring until the regroup phase. How can he put the ring back on during the regroup phase?
-
It's explained in the comprehensive rule book that the "response" function rings can be put on in the Regroup phase and wearing the ring lasts through the end of the regroup phase.
-wtk
-
oh, missed that rule. thanks ket
-
Edit: Another question. Does desperate defense of the ring trigger for each minion assigned to skirmish the bearer?
No; the companion is assigned to a skirmish just once, regardless of how many minions are assigned to the companion.
-
Edit: Another question. Does desperate defense of the ring trigger for each minion assigned to skirmish the bearer?
No; the companion is assigned to a skirmish just once, regardless of how many minions are assigned to the companion.
That is incorrect. The character skirmishes just once, but each copy of Desperate Defense of the Ring would activate per minion assigned to said companion.
-wtk
-
Ket, can you show us an official ruling on this? I couldn't find anything definitive in the comp. rules 4.0, but I admit that doesn't prove either way.
-
Ket, can you show us an official ruling on this? I couldn't find anything definitive in the comp. rules 4.0, but I admit that doesn't prove either way.
Sure. It's just an understanding of phase actions in the Assignment phase [pages 5 and 6].
Assign defenders
During your assignment phase, you may assign companions to defend against attacking minions.
A player cannot assign more than one companion to the same minion.
All assignments of characters are on a one-to-one basis, with the following two exceptions:
• If your assigned companion has the keyword defender +1, you may assign that character at
this time to one additional unassigned minion. Defender +2 allows that companion to defend
against two additional unassigned minions, and so on. A character with defender +2 (or greater)
satisfies any requirement for defender +1.
• When you have informed the Shadow players that you are done making assignments, they
may assign any leftover unassigned minions to any companions (even if those companions
are already assigned). The first Shadow player on your right may assign any of his unassigned
minions, and so on, counter-clockwise around the table.
In short, a companion who is Defender +1 is assigned an additional time, activating Desperate Defense of the Ring another time. This is why Bill Ferny, Swarthy, Sneering Fellow is so popular as an assassin in a Desperate Defense of the Ring deck...particularly one where two or three copies are "stacked" on the same defender.
-wtk
Postscript: You can read further in the "Assignment Phase Summary" section:
Assignment Phase Summary
• Perform assignment actions
• Free Peoples player may assign defending companions to minions.
• Shadow players may assign leftover unassigned minions to any companions.
-
Such a companion is assigned to a minion many times (and there are cards, that trigger off being assigned to a minion). Bus, as this is only one skirmish, this companion is assigned to a skirmish only once and DDOTR triggers only once.
-
Such a companion is assigned to a minion many times (and there are cards, that trigger off being assigned to a minion). Bus, as this is only one skirmish, this companion is assigned to a skirmish only once and DDOTR triggers only once.
Actually, it's a nomenclature mistake by Decipher common to the early sets. A minion being assigned to a companion and being assigned to a skirmish are the same thing.
-wtk
-
I don't see the rules implying that a companion would be repeatedly assigned to a skirmish (can be assigned to multiple minions, sure, but he's already been assigned to a skirmish). There is this (http://www.decktech.net/lotr/articles/articles.php?id=5281&view=2) Q&A from Enrique (former judge) basically saying the same thing.
-
I don't see the rules implying that a companion would be repeatedly assigned to a skirmish (can be assigned to multiple minions, sure, but he's already been assigned to a skirmish). There is this (http://www.decktech.net/lotr/articles/articles.php?id=5281&view=2) Q&A from Enrique (former judge) basically saying the same thing.
Hmm...I had never seen the ruling by Enrique before and am still not sure that I believe in it. I'm going to look into it more, but in the meantime, would a mod mind splitting the DDotR stuff from the Ring of Rings stuff?
Merci.
-wtk
-
Such a companion is assigned to a minion many times (and there are cards, that trigger off being assigned to a minion). Bus, as this is only one skirmish, this companion is assigned to a skirmish only once and DDOTR triggers only once.
Actually, it's a nomenclature mistake by Decipher common to the early sets. A minion being assigned to a companion and being assigned to a skirmish are the same thing.
Do you have any announcement from Decipher backing this up?
-
Sooooooooooooo, whats the final say on DDOTR? Ket's word or Socks and Enrique? Just very curious
-
DDOTR only triggers once, no matter how many minions are assigned to that companion.
-
Hey Ket-
Just wondering where it speaks about using the ring as a response in the CRD--
It's explained in the comprehensive rule book that the "response" function rings can be put on in the Regroup phase and wearing the ring lasts through the end of the regroup phase.
-wtk
I'm sure it is there...just can't seem to find it.
Thanks!
ghhhk
-
It's not in the CRD (Current Rulings Document), it's in the CRB (Comprehensive Rule Book), specifically The Two Towers version (at least that's where I saw it first):
How does he take the Ring off?
If your Ring-bearer puts on the Ring (any version) during
the regroup phase, he then takes it off at the end of that
regroup phase.