The Last Homely House
Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: gashad on February 12, 2012, 03:27:57 AM
-
Hi-recently started playing lotrccg after a long hiatus. however during the games we played we were uncertain how to handle Theoden,Tall and Proud when he dies-the fellowship player can play a new companion-can he place any resultant threat wounds on this companion-or do the threat wounds trigger before the new companion is played.
Also same question with Ulraire Toldea, Winged Sentry-can the exertion caused by Ulaire Toldea winning the skirmish be placed on a companion which he plays because of Theoden dying in said skirmish.
Thanks
-
I think this issue is cleared up by the fact that required actions always come before optional actions.
Triggering threats is a required action. Playing a new companion from Théoden, Tall and Proud is an optional action. Therefore, I think threat wounds are placed and then you find a companion.
Similarly, Ulairé Toldëa, Winged Sentry is a required action and so must come before Théoden, Tall and Proud.
Thran
-
Threat wounds are placed one at a time. If, say, you are assigned 3 threat damage and Theoden is exhausted, you could assign the first threat wound to Theoden, killing him, which then triggers his text. So you would play the new companion from that new trigger, then you resume from where you left off. The remaining 2 threat wounds could indeed be assigned to the new companion.
Edit: It seems I misread your initial question. If Theoden is the one getting killed and the threat wounds are being placed due to his death, all of the threat wounds are assigned before Theoden can play the new companion.
Both Toldea and placing the wound from losing the skirmish are required actions, so the FP chooses which one will occur first. If FP chooses for the losing wound to occur first, then Theoden would get killed and play his new companion like normal, then the second required action (Toldea's text) kicks in and the new companion could be exerted if FP chooses.
-
Bib is right if you are killing Theoden with the threat wounds. Since they are placed one at a time, you follow all of the through all of the consequences of placing that wound before placing the next.
-
Bib is right
That's really all that needs to be said in any Rules question thread...