The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: ket_the_jet on May 01, 2012, 09:30:21 PM

Title: Southron Chieftain
Post by: ket_the_jet on May 01, 2012, 09:30:21 PM
A player has a Desert Sneak ([1] Ambush), Suzerain of Harad (conditional [8] ambush), and Southron Chieftain in play.

If I assign the Desert Sneak, Suzerain of Harad, and Southron Chieftain in that order, should the Desert Sneak be able to wound a companion and the Suzerain of Harad add [8]? My understanding of the CRD suggests that ambush is added as a minion is assigned.
-wtk
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: Kralik on May 01, 2012, 09:36:25 PM
Southron Chieftain can be strategically assigned by the Free People's player to avoid his initiative penalty if he is assigned last. Therefore, unless you had lost initiative naturally or for some other reason, Desert Sneak and Suzerain of Harad would not activate. Minions are assigned one at a time and ambush is added at the time of assignment.

Rulebook:
When the Free Peoples player assigns one of his
characters to skirmish a minion with the keyword
“ambush X,” the Shadow player who owns that
minion may add X. (See assignment phase.)
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: hsiale on May 01, 2012, 11:40:14 PM
"Once all assignments have been made, they take effect simultaneously."

"All required actions responding to a particular trigger are performed before any optional actions."

"When the Free Peoples player assigns one of his characters to skirmish a minion with the keyword “ambush [X],” the Shadow player who owns that minion may add [X]."

"DESERT RUNNER 7 C 133
Clarification:
Southron. Ambush [1].
When the Free Peoples player assigns this minion to a character and you have initiative, you may wound that character."

(Quotes from rulebook: assignment, action, ambush, Desert Runner clarification. Desert Sneak and Desert Scout have the same clarification.)

You cannot assign in a particular order (unless via assignment actions). So all Southrons get assigned simultaneously, Chieftain action is required and takes place before all others (which are optional).
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: Vroengard on May 02, 2012, 12:09:00 AM
That means now? There are 2 opinions here as far as I understand that. Do they trigger the effect or not?
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: bibfortuna25 on May 02, 2012, 12:54:42 AM
All minions are assigned at the same time.

A required action due to the Southron Chieftain being assigned is that he gives the Shadow initiative.

Both Suzerain of Harad and Desert Sneak are optional actions due to being assigned when Shadow has initiative, so they occur after the Chieftain gives initiative.
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: TelTura on May 02, 2012, 01:11:15 AM
initiative triggers are optional?  that's bull.  not you guys, I mean that Decipher would even have such shaky mechanics...the card says "mandatory" and the rules say "optional".
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: bibfortuna25 on May 02, 2012, 01:26:53 AM
Ambush is optional, as is the Desert Sneak's ability. Therefore, they have to come after the Southron Chieftain's mandatory action of giving the Shadow initiative.
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: TelTura on May 02, 2012, 01:32:48 AM
Ambush is optional, as is the Desert Sneak's ability. Therefore, they have to come after the Southron Chieftain's mandatory action of giving the Shadow initiative.


Sure, but the fact that they came in after the fact and claimed "oh, it's optional.  I know the card says 'you must do this' but we actually meant 'you can do it if you want'", and that's what I'm calling shenanigans on.  That's not a clarification, that's an outright errata.
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: ket_the_jet on May 02, 2012, 03:41:01 AM
Hmm...reading more about the assignment phase [and less specifically about Ambush rules] leads me to accept your justification. I ended up pulling through and winning the game, so no harm done but...

...that all foil Southron deck I built then sold because it was utterly unsuccessful would've been way better if I played Southron Chieftain as he was meant to be played. C'est la vie.
-wtk

Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: Air Power on May 02, 2012, 06:59:45 AM
that all foil Southron deck I built then sold because it was utterly unsuccessful would've been way better if I played Southron Chieftain as he was meant to be played. C'est la vie.
-wtk

thanks  ;D
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: MarcinS on May 02, 2012, 09:52:31 AM
Ambush is optional, as is the Desert Sneak's ability. Therefore, they have to come after the Southron Chieftain's mandatory action of giving the Shadow initiative.


Sure, but the fact that they came in after the fact and claimed "oh, it's optional.  I know the card says 'you must do this' but we actually meant 'you can do it if you want'", and that's what I'm calling shenanigans on.  That's not a clarification, that's an outright errata.
Umm, Ambush always was an optional - from Comprehensive Rules: "the Shadow player who owns that minion may add..."
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: TelTura on May 02, 2012, 10:11:18 AM
I'm talking about the initiative action, not ambush.  Desert Sneak and their ilk very clearly states on the card to perform an action.  Period.  For Decipher to then try and "clarify" that the phrase "When...you have initiative, wound that character" means "If you feel like it, you may wound that character" seems stupid, in my opinion.  Errata it if need be, but don't gum up the meaning of words when it's in black and white.
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: Tbiesty on May 02, 2012, 10:59:01 AM
Yes, the "...and you have initiative, wound that character." part of Desert Sneak is a required action.  If it was "...and you have initiative, you may wound that character.", then it would have been optional.  "May" is the key word to determine if it is optional.
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: TelTura on May 02, 2012, 11:05:21 AM
That's the point.  Check the clarification text.
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: Tbiesty on May 02, 2012, 11:17:21 AM
That's the point.  Check the clarification text.
Ah, I see now. ok, looks like it's optional then (and seems easier to comprehend that way too). Perhaps that's why it was done.
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: Kralik on May 02, 2012, 04:29:52 PM
Minions are assigned one at a time

I bow to bibfortuna... didn't realize I could be so incredibly wrong on this one! On the plus side, that means that for many, many games, my Southron initiative deck with Southron Chieftain was being played wrong and my opponents got lots of leeway. They always assigned him last. How many games should I have won? I'll have to break that one out again. :mrgreen:
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: bibfortuna25 on May 02, 2012, 05:15:51 PM
Here's the thing. If Desert Sneak's ability were mandatory as printed on the card, he and the Southron Chieftain would have the same trigger. Meaning that FP would choose the order in which those actions would occur, so a smart player would never choose for the Chieftain's action first.

So I think the Sneak's text was clarified to be more in line with what Decipher intended with those Southron initiative mechanics in the ROTK set.
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: MarcinS on May 03, 2012, 05:50:53 AM
Here's the thing. If Desert Sneak's ability were mandatory as printed on the card, he and the Southron Chieftain would have the same trigger. Meaning that FP would choose the order in which those actions would occur, so a smart player would never choose for the Chieftain's action first.

No, I believe, if they both were required, that the Desert Sneak would not trigger at all, because you don't meet all the requirements. Anyway the card indeed has an errata disguised as a clarification, didn't notice it.
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: Elessar's Socks on May 03, 2012, 10:08:52 AM
Bib is correct, I believe. This might again be asking more of the rulebook than is written in there, but I think the end result is being able to recheck for cards that can respond to a trigger. For example, if Wulf is played as a response to a [Dunland] Man winning a skirmish, he himself can respond, even though when the "[Dunland] Man wins a skirmish" trigger happened he wasn't even in play.
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: MarcinS on May 04, 2012, 08:51:51 AM
Bib is correct, I believe. This might again be asking more of the rulebook than is written in there, but I think the end result is being able to recheck for cards that can respond to a trigger. For example, if Wulf is played as a response to a [Dunland] Man winning a skirmish, he himself can respond, even though when the "[Dunland] Man wins a skirmish" trigger happened he wasn't even in play.
Well, the way Gemp-LotR is implemented at the moment, is that the required actions are not rechecked and optional actions are rechecked.

The reasoning behind this is simple:
- required - rule-book says to "Free Peoples player decides in which order they occur", I was even wondering for a time, if FP player should choose the order and THEN resolve them in that order, or if he should choose one to resolve, resolve it, choose another one, resolve it, etc. If it would have to recheck, then if there was only one required action and the result of that action introduced one more action (for example it brought a card into play), then it would give a perceived effect, that FP player was not given a choice of ordering these two actions,
- optional - it's not rechecking, because playing responses from hand is also optional, if one of the optional actions you had was to draw a card if something happens, and you decided to play a response from hand as a second action, how would your opponent know, that the card you want to play, wasn't the one you already drew as a result of another optional trigger (hence was not valid to play at the time the event occurred)?
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: Elessar's Socks on May 05, 2012, 08:05:18 PM
If it would have to recheck, then if there was only one required action and the result of that action introduced one more action (for example it brought a card into play), then it would give a perceived effect, that FP player was not given a choice of ordering these two actions,
Not sure I follow your train of thought, but it seems to me that if the first action needs to be resolved in order to introduce another action, then that introduced action could not have been ordered first anyway (regardless of whether triggers are rechecked or not).

In the Dunlending Arsonist / Wulf situation, both minions have the same trigger; Arsonist is optional, Wulf is required. I think it'd surprise players if Wulf couldn't take control of a site (for example, mentioned here (http://www.decktech.net/lotr/articles/articles.php?id=5452&view=2)) after being played by the Arsonist.

Anyway, just trying to get to the bottom of this. Thanks for all the work getting Gemp-LotR into gear.
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: bibfortuna25 on May 06, 2012, 01:12:48 AM
Wulf is an optional action too. All bolded actions are optional. He and the Dunlending Arsonist have the exact same trigger.
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: Elessar's Socks on May 06, 2012, 05:15:39 AM
Man, I was looking for "may" and totally overlooked that it was a bolded action. Any objections to required actions working as implemented, Bib? Can't think of a good example off the top of my head at this point (there's the one with Memories of Darkness / My Axe Is Notched, but it's probably not all that common).
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: bibfortuna25 on May 06, 2012, 06:53:36 AM
It's not so much of the Free Peoples player choosing the order of automatic actions, but rather, the FP chooses one required action, resolves it, then if there are any other automatic actions from that same trigger, he chooses the next one, and so on.

That's why when you're playing Gemp-LOTR, as the FP, you are often asked to choose between competing automatic actions. One example is when an Uruk Rager wins a skirmish. Both placing the wounds and the Rager discarding 2 cards from the loser's deck have the same trigger, so the Free Peoples player chooses which one will resolve first.

I can't think of any specific examples at the moment, but let's say there are three competing automatic actions to be resolved. If resolving Action 1 causes conditions to change so that Actions 2 and 3 no longer have a trigger, then they simply won't occur.
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: MarcinS on May 08, 2012, 09:41:18 AM
I can't think of any specific examples at the moment, but let's say there are three competing automatic actions to be resolved. If resolving Action 1 causes conditions to change so that Actions 2 and 3 no longer have a trigger, then they simply won't occur.
So in other words, you want to recheck the required actions after resolving each action? Changing this would have the following results:
1. If a required action introduced a new card into play (either directly or indirectly, e.g. a response to a required action), and that new introduced card had a required trigger on it to the original event, then the introduced card upon recheck would trigger, even though it wasn't around when the original event happened.
2. In your example with Uruk Rager, if a FP player chose to deal dmg first, and then somehow managed to discard/kill the Uruk Rager while resolving the damage (or by responding to the damage), then upon rechecking for the "Win skirmish" event, Uruk Rager would no longer be around, so the 2 cards would not be discarded from FP deck.
Title: Re: Southron Chieftain
Post by: bibfortuna25 on May 08, 2012, 03:49:42 PM
Correct on both counts.