The Last Homely House
Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: neopium on October 16, 2012, 02:27:41 AM
-
Hi,
I know that Bill Ferny, Swarthy Sneering Fellow can be assigned by the shadow player to a companion that already has an assigned minion.
Is it also possible with Saruman, servant of the eye and Gorgoroth Assassin? I don't see any reason why, but it seems to me that I could not assign two Gorgoroth Assassin to the same companion in Gemp last time I played. I wonder if it is a bug or a rule I did not understood.
Kind regards
-
I think you are in fact looking at two different situations.
1) It is wrong to compare Bill Ferney, Swarthy Sneering Fellow with Saruman, Servant of the Eye. For Bill, it clearly states that "the free people's cannot assign...". Thus, as the shadow player you are free to assign him. For Saruman however, he "may not be assigned...". and thus cannot be assigned by neither the free peoples nor the shadow, (unless of course, you play Saruman's Staff, Wizard's Device).
2) As for Gorgoroth Assassin I too am curious. I play an Isengard tracker deck using Many Riddles, and have come across similar situations. Not sure how to handle them.
-
The difference is that Bill cannot be assigned by Free Peoples, thos leaving him as a leftover minion (like when you have mroe minions than companions)
Whereas Saruman and the Gorgoroth Assassin both use an assignment action. Assignment actions can only create one-on-one assignments.
-
Assuming the fellowship plays Aragorn Heir of Elendil, would I (the shadow player) have the right to use Aragorns gametext - thus allowing me to assign two minions (in assignement phase) to skirmish him. Or is this an ability that only the free people can use?
-
Defender +1 doesnt work on assignment actions period. It only works on assigning as per regular rules.
-
For Saruman however, he "may not be assigned...". and thus cannot be assigned by neither the free peoples nor the shadow
I was talking about the special ability of Saruman, servant of the eye:
Assignment: Exert Saruman to assign an [Isengard] minion to a companion (except the Ring-bearer). That companion may exert to prevent this.
Thanks for your answers
It is indeed written in the comprehensive rules book, page 8: http://lotrtcgwiki.com/rules/comprehensive.pdf
Many assignment actions assign a minion to a
companion. You cannot do this unless both of
them are unassigned.
-
hahaha! Sorry. Foolish mistake. I see what you mean now! God that miss-understanding just made my day.
-
In what category does the Morgul spearman go?
If I understood correctly, it should work as Bill Ferny and is a leftover minion that could be assigned to a companion that is already assigned. Can you confirm?
-
If FP chooses not to (or cannot) exert a companion, then the Spearman can be assigned by the Shadow player in the exact same manner as Bill Ferny.
-
Thanks :)
-
Thank you ;0