The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Zenden on October 31, 2012, 07:55:17 AM

Title: Question about exertions
Post by: Zenden on October 31, 2012, 07:55:17 AM
Hey, guys. I have a question the rules. When one characters have only one wound to exhausted, another have 4 life i can exert twice character who get one exert? or I have to choose who can get two exerty? sry for my english :)
Title: Question about exertions
Post by: bibfortuna25 on October 31, 2012, 08:04:01 AM
Sorry, I don't have a clue what you're talking about. Try typing your question in normal, understandable English. Or at least say which card you're talking about that's doing the exerting.
Title: Question about exertions
Post by: Zenden on October 31, 2012, 09:13:58 AM
I'm talking about Mumak Commancer GAtS or Denethor, LRS.They exert twice. I can choose character who gets only one exert? Despite the fact that the table is a character that can exert twice?
Title: Question about exertions
Post by: hsiale on October 31, 2012, 01:51:17 PM
I'm not sure.

The scenario is the following. Two minions, one with two vitality left, one with at least three. You use Denethor LRS. Can you choose the minion with 2 vitality left and exert it once, or do you have to choose the minion that actually can exert twice if there is such active minion?
Title: Question about exertions
Post by: Zenden on October 31, 2012, 03:28:18 PM
I played a lot in the real (and lotro) and always we had a choise. In gemp-lotr, program automatically selects a character that can be exerts twice.  Today I lost the game by the error. (league Post-Shadows Constructed).

Despite the fact I had no choice text Boromir who was exhausted. Gave me three burdens, when I could prevent two wounds from the Ring 11R.

The game ignores the very important elections.

-----
Again sry for my english :(
Title: Question about exertions
Post by: bibfortuna25 on October 31, 2012, 03:49:20 PM
For Mumak Commander GATS and Denethor, you have to choose a character who is capable of exerting twice. If no such character is in play, then you can choose whoever you want. The rules say that if the effect of a card gives you multiple choices, you must choose the one that you are most fully able to complete.

For Boromir, the system works correctly. If you can't wound him twice, then you have to add the burdens.
Title: Question about exertions
Post by: Zenden on November 01, 2012, 02:10:22 AM
I'm sorry but i think you do not know what you're talking. Boromir work once again does not work. Why can not I hurt him? I can event kill him with the wounds. The idea is the play that bears Ring R11 and prevent wound from ring.
Title: Question about exertions
Post by: bibfortuna25 on November 01, 2012, 03:02:48 AM
Because if you have prevented the wounds with the Ring, you haven't fulfilled Boromir's text. The only way an exhausted Boromir can fight is if you add the burdens with his text.
Title: Re: Question about exertions
Post by: MarcinS on November 08, 2012, 08:13:52 AM
I played a lot in the real (and lotro) and always we had a choise. In gemp-lotr, program automatically selects a character that can be exerts twice.  Today I lost the game by the error. (league Post-Shadows Constructed).

Despite the fact I had no choice text Boromir who was exhausted. Gave me three burdens, when I could prevent two wounds from the Ring 11R.

The game ignores the very important elections.

-----
Again sry for my english :(

It's in the rules:
If the effect of a card or special ability requires
you to choose one of two different actions, you
must choose an action that you are fully capable
of performing (if possible).


Maybe it's just a matter of different interpretation between LotRO and Gemp-lotr, but the fact that rules are not specific enough, justifies having any interpretation, and this is the one that has been chose.

The same applies to wounding character X times, you can't choose to wound a character X times if it has less than X vitality. So yes, you can choose to kill a character, but you can't choose to "overkill" it.
Title: Re: Question about exertions
Post by: bibfortuna25 on November 08, 2012, 03:01:02 PM
Yeah, the only time you are able to use the Ring to absorb Boromir's penalty wounds is if he has 2 or more vitality. You choose the wounding option, then you can activate the Ring's text to take 2 burdens instead.

However, if the Ring is already on beforehand, you are not capable of choosing to wound Boromir twice, so you must choose his 3 burden penalty.