The Last Homely House

The Barrow-Downs => Deck Check => The Multiverse => Casual => Topic started by: SomeRandomDude on September 19, 2008, 01:17:35 PM

Title: If you can't win...
Post by: SomeRandomDude on September 19, 2008, 01:17:35 PM
Don't lose either.

Lion's Eye Diamond x 4
Oblivion Ring x 4
Black Lotus x 4
Idyllic Tutor x 4

Plains x 44

The plan is to draw 2 Oblivion Rings and two of the Lotus/Diamond.

Sac both mana fixers and float the mana.

Play an Oblivion Ring.

Play another.

The game enters an unbreakable loop, each O-Ring having to target each other, forcing an immediate draw.

Have fun!

EDIT: Added tutors per ELs request. That should make the deck work faster.
Title: Re: If you can't win...
Post by: Elf_Lvr on September 19, 2008, 06:28:12 PM
Hilarious.

If you actually wanted it to work, though, you'd need some tutoring.
Title: Re: If you can't win...
Post by: NappyKorn on September 19, 2008, 06:36:31 PM
Hilarious.

If you actually wanted it to work, though, you'd need some tutoring.

...and a big bank roll for a deck that only causes a draw. Not a player of MTG but I do from time to time check things out for it. If I'm not mistaken Black Lotus is one of those super expensive cards.
Title: Re: If you can't win...
Post by: SomeRandomDude on September 20, 2008, 09:30:58 AM
Hilarious.

If you actually wanted it to work, though, you'd need some tutoring.

Done. :up:
Title: Re: If you can't win...
Post by: FM on September 20, 2008, 11:23:58 AM
If I'm not mistaken, you have to play one O-Ring, target the other artifact, and THEN play the second, otherwise the first one would end up removing itself as the only legal target. Also, when you sac Lion's Eye Diamond, you'd have to discard your hand instantly (it got an errata to work as an instant, NOT as a mana ability), so you wouldn't have O-Rings to play. Unfortunately, it doesn't work the way it is.
PS: There are easier way to cause a draw... ;)
Title: Re: If you can't win...
Post by: SomeRandomDude on September 20, 2008, 11:30:12 AM
Nope. O-ring specifically says "ANOTHER target non-land permanent." And you don't have to target in order to play, meaning it can hit play, find no target, and then you play the other.

Good point about the Diamond. Will fix.