The Last Homely House
Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Helkadal on December 16, 2012, 09:36:57 AM
-
I recently carefully read the Comprehensive Rules 4.0 and found out that ring-bearers can't have their skirmish cancelled. That brought me a question about cards like Hobbit Stealth or Hobbit Intuition.
Let's see the first one's text:
"Stealth. Skirmish: At sites 1 to 5, cancel a skirmish involving a Hobbit. At any other site, make a Hobbit strength +2."
So let's say I'm at site 3 (fellowship, of course), Frodo's (ring-bearer and) on a skirmish. If I use Hobbit Stealth, then I get NO EFFECTS AT ALL? Because that's what the card actually says. "At any other site" doesn't mean "at any other circumstance", right? Nor "If you can't cancel the skirmish for any reason".
-
Skirmish cancelling is a rule used in movie block and beyond. During the time of FOTR block (and TTT block as well as Towers Standard) it was legal to cancel a skirmish involving the ringbearer.
On Gemp people play with the block rules as they were during that time.
-
Also, I think there was a clarification that those cards refer to Fellowship block sites 1-5 or 1-4. So if you were playing any site-path other than fellowship block, then the "at any other site" text would always take place; i.e. if you use Hobbit Stealth on a hobbit bearing the one ring in a post-shadows game, the ring-bearer gets the strength boost at any site.
-
Ok, thanks