The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: whitewarrior11 on February 06, 2013, 08:24:01 AM

Title: Possessions/artifacts question
Post by: whitewarrior11 on February 06, 2013, 08:24:01 AM
Hello guys,

Last day, in a multiplayer game, we had a situation:

- Frodo had a Hobbit Sword equipped. In Fellowship, thje Freeps player discarded a Hobbit Sword from hand, saying he would put it on Frodo but since you can only have one possession of each class on a given character, one would get discarded right away so he just does this and add 1 twilight in the pool. I told him he can't do that. One other player argued you can do it to replace a version of a unique weapon by another (e.g., Sting with Sting, Bane of the Eight-Legs). This player claimed he did it the other day on Gemp. Who is right?

The starter rulebook from The Hunters mentions this: "You cannot play a card from hand to replace another card in play, even if those cards have the same card title or represent the same personality."

I thought that, the moment you have a possession of a given class on a character, you cannot actually replace it or discard it unless you use a card that specifically does so. Am I right?
Title: Re: Possessions/artifacts question
Post by: Ringbearer on February 06, 2013, 08:57:31 AM
You are right, there should be no way into replacing a possession or character.
Title: Re: Possessions/artifacts question
Post by: bibfortuna25 on February 06, 2013, 04:21:24 PM
The only way you can do that is if you transfer the Hobbit Sword to another hobbit so you can put Sting on Frodo.
Title: Re: Possessions/artifacts question
Post by: whitewarrior11 on February 07, 2013, 09:38:46 AM
So basically, what are the ways the Freeps player have to replace a possession on a character?

- Transferring
- Having a possession discarded by a Shadow card
- Anduril, Flame of the West, Shadowfax

Otherwise, I am stuck with the possession in my hand, right?
Title: Re: Possessions/artifacts question
Post by: bibfortuna25 on February 07, 2013, 11:12:49 AM
You are never "stuck" with a card in your hand. When you reconcile, just discard it.