The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: admiral_jones on March 18, 2013, 01:18:48 PM

Title: The Witch King Lord of Nazgul Question
Post by: admiral_jones on March 18, 2013, 01:18:48 PM
Hello,

If the Witch King Lord of Nazgul wins a skirmish and does his effect that exerts him to wound the ring-bearer twice, with the ruling ring am I allowed to put the ring on, even if Frodo was not assigned to any skirmish so I could take two burdens, or must I take two wounds in this instance? The ring reads "each time bearer is about to take a wound during a skirmish, add a burden instead" does this only apply to when he is skirmishing? If so, then if the Witch King is made fierce by a Fell Beast, all the shadow player would have to do (assuming he wins both skirmishes) is exert the Witch King after both skirmishes, and he would give Frodo four wounds, which would kill him. It just doesn't seem quite fair, four burdens is bad enough.
Title: Re: The Witch King Lord of Nazgul Question
Post by: Kralik on March 18, 2013, 01:41:47 PM
Pretty sure you can use the ring... but when you put it on, watch out!
Title: Re: The Witch King Lord of Nazgul Question
Post by: bibfortuna25 on March 18, 2013, 03:08:27 PM
Yes, you can put on the ring.
Title: Re: The Witch King Lord of Nazgul Question
Post by: Zurcamos on March 18, 2013, 04:23:34 PM
Comprehensive Rules, Version 3.0 (page 38):
Quote
The One Ring, The Ruling Ring
You may use the special ability of this card in response to a wound placed by The Witch-king, Lord of the Nazgul or Ulaire Enquea, Ringwraith in Twilight.

Isildur's Bane and Answer to All Riddles can do the same, but Such a Weight to Carry or The Binding Ring, especially on an alternate ringbearer, are a welcome sight for a Twilight Nazzie player.
Title: Re: The Witch King Lord of Nazgul Question
Post by: Kralik on March 18, 2013, 09:55:08 PM
Comprehensive Rules, Version 3.0 (page 38):
Quote
The One Ring, The Ruling Ring
You may use the special ability of this card in response to a wound placed by The Witch-king, Lord of the Nazgul or Ulaire Enquea, Ringwraith in Twilight.

Isildur's Bane and Answer to All Riddles can do the same, but Such a Weight to Carry or The Binding Ring, especially on an alternate ringbearer, are a welcome sight for a Twilight Nazzie player.

For ATAR you'll have to have put it on first. It's not a Response: like the ruling ring.
Title: Re: The Witch King Lord of Nazgul Question
Post by: Zurcamos on March 18, 2013, 11:42:44 PM
For ATAR you'll have to have put it on first. It's not a Response: like the ruling ring.

Good point.  Fortunately, you always have the opportunity to do so (in this example).  Unfortunately, it's not incredibly difficult to pass without thinking.
Title: Re: The Witch King Lord of Nazgul Question
Post by: gofatas2013 on March 19, 2013, 01:34:32 PM
Whith that version of the one ring of course, you should be more caution with other versions of the one ring
Title: Re: The Witch King Lord of Nazgul Question
Post by: Kralik on March 20, 2013, 05:02:46 PM
But when you DO put on the ATAR, it gives your opponent the Skirmish action they need to play Wraith-World... ;)
Title: Re: The Witch King Lord of Nazgul Question
Post by: gofatas on March 30, 2013, 05:52:42 AM
You can use it for sure