The Last Homely House
Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Legion on April 13, 2013, 02:47:56 PM
-
I dislike decks that focus on total site-path control, so I want to ask a question about One Good Turn Deserves Another. This may be clutching at straws, but suppose this is the card you pull using Dammed Gate Stream. Can you add the burden to take it back into hand, if it's never been your hand? It came from your deck, so when you add the burden as the cost, but cannot do the effect, surely that effect must be ignored?
I guess it comes down to the subtlety of the wording, and I'll admit I'm biassed as to how I want this to go, but I do think it's not so clear cut.
-
Yes you can take it into hand.
-
I feel your pain, man. Hopefully this will offer you some help:
http://lotrtcgwiki.com/forums/index.php/topic,8278.0.html (http://lotrtcgwiki.com/forums/index.php/topic,8278.0.html)
-
I just feel the wording of the card is a little funny. There is no need for the word "back" as if the card said "You may add a burden to take this card into hand," it would still make sense (and then I'd have to agree that this ability could be used with Dammed Gate Stream). However, we have that annoying word "back." I guess this is going to have to go by popular opinion, as it is a linguistic subtlety, not anything in the rules (unless someone knows about about some clarification made by Decipher!).
When Gandalf said to the Balrog '"Go back to the shadows from whence you came!"' suppose that the Balrog had never been in the shadows. It'd have been perfectly in its right to point out to Gandalf that it couldn't do it, humiliating its opponent and probably putting Gandalf totally off guard before their fight.