The Last Homely House
Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Nizmox on January 05, 2014, 03:16:05 PM
-
Hi there,
I am very very new to the LOTR TCG but have spent quite a lot of time building a LOTR cube so I can play with my friends who have also never played before. I did my research and read up on the rules and we ran a cube event on the weekend. There were only 4 of us so it wasn't ideal and the drafting and game went on for ages... but we had fun. There were naturally however a few rules questions we had by the end of it (we used some house rulings to get passed these questions during the game time).
Anyway, here they are...
When exactly can you use the one ring to prevent wounds?
For example, I have Frodo with "The One Ring, Answer To All Riddles (4R1)"
So the game text is...
While wearing The One Ring, the Ring-bearer is strength +2, and each time he is about to take a wound in a skirmish, add a burden instead. Skirmish: Add a burden to wear The One Ring until the regroup phase.
So I interpret this to mean that I can only put on the one ring using the 'action procedure' in the skirmish phase.
* First question, during each Skirmish phase can you use Skirmish abilities of Companions / Minions not involved in that Skirmish? I presume the answer to this is yes?
* Second question, if my opponent has Southron Assassin and wins a skirmish with a Southron so chooses to wound the Ring Bearer, I presume I can't use the Ring to turn this wound into a burden? Or is the solution to this to just put on the ring in the skirmish phase before you lose the skirmish?
Healing at Sanctuarys
The rules state that this must be done at the start of turn. So if I start my turn at site 4 and move to site 5, but then decide to move again, do I skip the oppurtunity to heal 5 wounds?
Spot
I presume if you are currently the free people's player your shadow cards and your opponents free people's cards are not valid targets to spot? They are effectively out of play?
Conditions
Do Shadow Conditions persist after the end of a turn? The rules seem to state that only Minions are removed at EOT.
Thanks in advance for your responses!
-
Hi! Nice to see someone new getting into the game :)
So I interpret this to mean that I can only put on the one ring using the 'action procedure' in the skirmish phase.
* First question, during each Skirmish phase can you use Skirmish abilities of Companions / Minions not involved in that Skirmish? I presume the answer to this is yes?
* Second question, if my opponent has Southron Assassin and wins a skirmish with a Southron so chooses to wound the Ring Bearer, I presume I can't use the Ring to turn this wound into a burden? Or is the solution to this to just put on the ring in the skirmish phase before you lose the skirmish?
Absolutely correct on both counts. So note that this ring does not protect you from archery wounds.
Healing at Sanctuarys
The rules state that this must be done at the start of turn. So if I start my turn at site 4 and move to site 5, but then decide to move again, do I skip the oppurtunity to heal 5 wounds?
Again, this is correct (though sanctuaries are sites 3 and 6). So if you start at site 5, and double through site 6 to site 7, you do not get to heal those 5 wounds.
Spot
I presume if you are currently the free people's player your shadow cards and your opponents free people's cards are not valid targets to spot? They are effectively out of play?
Correct! You cannot spot your shadow cards during your fellowship turn.
Conditions
Do Shadow Conditions persist after the end of a turn? The rules seem to state that only Minions are removed at EOT.
And correct again! Conditions stay forever (unless they specifically say that they should be discarded at the end of the turn. Only minions (and any cards they bear) get discarded.
-
Hi! Nice to see someone new getting into the game :)
So I interpret this to mean that I can only put on the one ring using the 'action procedure' in the skirmish phase.
* First question, during each Skirmish phase can you use Skirmish abilities of Companions / Minions not involved in that Skirmish? I presume the answer to this is yes?
* Second question, if my opponent has Southron Assassin and wins a skirmish with a Southron so chooses to wound the Ring Bearer, I presume I can't use the Ring to turn this wound into a burden? Or is the solution to this to just put on the ring in the skirmish phase before you lose the skirmish?
Absolutely correct on both counts. So note that this ring does not protect you from archery wounds.
Healing at Sanctuarys
The rules state that this must be done at the start of turn. So if I start my turn at site 4 and move to site 5, but then decide to move again, do I skip the oppurtunity to heal 5 wounds?
Again, this is correct (though sanctuaries are sites 3 and 6). So if you start at site 5, and double through site 6 to site 7, you do not get to heal those 5 wounds.
Spot
I presume if you are currently the free people's player your shadow cards and your opponents free people's cards are not valid targets to spot? They are effectively out of play?
Correct! You cannot spot your shadow cards during your fellowship turn.
Conditions
Do Shadow Conditions persist after the end of a turn? The rules seem to state that only Minions are removed at EOT.
And correct again! Conditions stay forever (unless they specifically say that they should be discarded at the end of the turn. Only minions (and any cards they bear) get discarded.
Many thanks for your responses!
-
Hi! Nice to see someone new getting into the game :)
So I interpret this to mean that I can only put on the one ring using the 'action procedure' in the skirmish phase.
* First question, during each Skirmish phase can you use Skirmish abilities of Companions / Minions not involved in that Skirmish? I presume the answer to this is yes?
* Second question, if my opponent has Southron Assassin and wins a skirmish with a Southron so chooses to wound the Ring Bearer, I presume I can't use the Ring to turn this wound into a burden? Or is the solution to this to just put on the ring in the skirmish phase before you lose the skirmish?
Absolutely correct on both counts. So note that this ring does not protect you from archery wounds.
Just to clarify Legion's answer to the second question: if you put the ring on during the skirmish, the would from Southron Assassin will turn into a burden. If you don't put the ring on during the skirmish, there is no opportunity between the skirmish ending and that wound getting added to put the ring on and prevent it. However, if you have a "response ring" (like 1C1), the opportunity to put on the ring doesn't come up until the wound is about to be added.