The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: idleninja on May 03, 2014, 09:46:01 AM

Title: If Frodo is overwhelmed while wearing the Ring, does Sam also wear it?
Post by: idleninja on May 03, 2014, 09:46:01 AM
Frodo is wearing SAWTC during a skirmish
Frodo is overwhelmed
Sam triggers optional effect to become the Ring-bearer

Is Sam considered to be wearing the Ring or not? Just curious with Sealed league, I got this ring but I want to know if threat damage will add burdens or wounds to Sam if another comp dies during the same turn after it transfers.
Title: Re: If Frodo is overwhelmed while wearing the Ring, does Sam also wear it?
Post by: TelTura on May 03, 2014, 10:48:37 AM
I seem to recall a ruling about this, but I can't find it.

As I recall, when Frodo is killed, the Ring is no longer being worn when it transfers to Sam, who in your scenario would take wounds, not burdens.
Title: Re: If Frodo is overwhelmed while wearing the Ring, does Sam also wear it?
Post by: TelTura on May 03, 2014, 10:50:42 AM
Nvm, found it.  http://lotrtcgwiki.com/wiki/comprehensive_rules_4-0#losing_the_game.

"When a new character becomes your Ring-bearer, he is not wearing The One Ring, even if the old Ring-bearer was wearing it when he was killed."
Title: Re: If Frodo is overwhelmed while wearing the Ring, does Sam also wear it?
Post by: idleninja on May 03, 2014, 12:57:35 PM
Nvm, found it.  http://lotrtcgwiki.com/wiki/comprehensive_rules_4-0#losing_the_game.

"When a new character becomes your Ring-bearer, he is not wearing The One Ring, even if the old Ring-bearer was wearing it when he was killed."
Sounds good, thanks for the fast response!
Title: Re: If Frodo is overwhelmed while wearing the Ring, does Sam also wear it?
Post by: Han Solo on January 30, 2017, 05:02:59 AM
I seem to recall a ruling about this, but I can't find it.

As I recall, when Frodo is killed, the Ring is no longer being worn when it transfers to Sam, who in your scenario would take wounds, not burdens.

No, the Rings texts says that its bearer wears the One Ring until the regroup phase, the bearer in the moment that the rings was weared; a new bearer only wears the One Ring if he does the same action as the original one did or activating the trigger for use it itself, depending of wich version of the Ring he is using