The Last Homely House
Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: BigRedMF on August 08, 2014, 11:20:24 AM
-
I am wondering why (on Gemp) the Red Book of Westmarch lets you draw a card when it is played? Seems to me almost like saying you could spot Elrond when you play him to satisfy the requirement of spotting an Elf to play. Red Book has to be played before its game text is active, right?
-
Not sure, but the way it works is consistent with the way Gladden Homestead works: When you play Gladden Homestead, you add tokens for how many Gollum cards you can spot. It also spots itself for a token, even though you just played it.
-
The wording on Gladden Homestead is slightly different. It says "When you play this, add a token for each Gollum card you can spot." You actually play the card first, then follow the "When you play this" action, so it is already in play for spotting purposes. It doesn't seem the same to me as Red Book.
-
I see nothing wrong with the sgt's example. There's a difference between "when" and "each time," but the difference involves quantity, not function. In this situation, both phrases would work the same way. In other words, "Each time you play a tale" on a tale is the same as "When you play this" at the moment they are played.
I get what you're saying though. I went through the same thinking process when it first happened for me on Gemp. I won't speak for you, but I was trying to apply MTG constructs to LotR, which rarely works.
-
After reading the CRD for "playing a card", I see why you draw a card. It doesn't follow my logic but follows their rules...most likely like you said, due to playing MtG.