The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: bozoderek on August 09, 2014, 07:09:43 PM

Title: If a card adds a burden, does that mean the ring bearer is wearing the one ring?
Post by: bozoderek on August 09, 2014, 07:09:43 PM
So, I have one card that says add a burden, and another that says... if you can spot the ringbearer wearing the one ring and a twilight nazgul, add 3 burdens. So, Can I play the first card and then the second? Or is frodo actually not wearing the ring even though he took a burden?
Title: Re: If a card adds a burden, does that mean the ring bearer is wearing the one ring?
Post by: malo on August 09, 2014, 07:25:33 PM
hi, when a card add a burden, the ring bearer don't wear the ring.

you can play resistance becomes unbearable. if the ring bearer is exaust, the card say: wear the one ring, and then you can play the twilling world.

i tested this deck, it was pretty fun, i play gollum dark as darkness, with 4 copies of captured by the ring
Title: Re: If a card adds a burden, does that mean the ring bearer is wearing the one ring?
Post by: bozoderek on August 09, 2014, 07:43:55 PM
huh. So do you just discard smeagol with a card before he dies and bring him back with the other?
Title: Re: If a card adds a burden, does that mean the ring bearer is wearing the one ring?
Post by: Prince_of_Ithilien on August 09, 2014, 09:53:59 PM
Bozoderek, you are correct in saying that he is not wearing the ring.  There are several cards that add burdens without making the ring-bearer wear the ring.  One that comes to mind as an example is It Wants to be Found.  However, unless a card specifically states that he puts on the ring (as with malo's example with Resistance Becomes Unbearable), then the card simply adds a burden (play it just as it reads).
The 3 burden Wraith World card you mention is a nice one - there is more than one way of making it work.  For example, the twilight Witch-King and Enquea wound Frodo if they win, at which point the opponent may put on the ring to take those wounds as burdens if he/she chooses.  That would be an opportunity to play Wraith World/Twilight World.
Title: Re: If a card adds a burden, does that mean the ring bearer is wearing the one ring?
Post by: bibfortuna25 on August 10, 2014, 06:43:00 AM
Remember the golden rule of TCGs: All cards do what they say.

When a card says to add a burden, that's exactly what you do. It doesn't say to put on the Ring, so you don't.