The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: BigRedMF on August 13, 2014, 04:50:27 AM

Title: Steward's Tomb and the Ring
Post by: BigRedMF on August 13, 2014, 04:50:27 AM
Quick question: does Steward's tomb prevent the One Ring's response? Or allow you to add a burden for no effect? The ring bearer is "about to take a wound", and the Ring is preventing that wound even though it doesn't technically say "add a burden to prevent the wound".
Title: Re: Steward's Tomb and the Ring
Post by: sgtdraino on August 13, 2014, 06:35:40 AM
It has been ruled that what The One Ring does is not "preventing" wounds (it doesn't use the word "prevent"), it converts wounds, so Steward's Tomb does not affect it.
Title: Re: Steward's Tomb and the Ring
Post by: dmaz on August 13, 2014, 11:10:10 PM
Just so I'm completely clear on all this now...

So the one ring does not "prevent" the wounds. BUT in a case where wounding the ringbearer is a cost for something, IF you use the ring to "convert" to burdens, you technically aren't paying the cost, right? I'm sure I've seen this happen with a Brute, but I just wanted to make sure :)
Title: Re: Steward's Tomb and the Ring
Post by: Eukalyptus on August 14, 2014, 12:18:11 AM
For Morgul Brute your example is correct. The Brute adds 1 burden and the freeps player may wound the RB to prevent this. If he wounds the RB and converts that wound to a burden, the cost has not been payed and the burden through Brute is added, effectively adding 2 burdens
Title: Re: Steward's Tomb and the Ring
Post by: BigRedMF on August 14, 2014, 03:09:31 AM
It doesn't say burdens can't be prevented, just can't be removed. So you should still be able to wound Frodo to prevent the burden.
Title: Re: Steward's Tomb and the Ring
Post by: Eukalyptus on August 14, 2014, 03:26:12 AM
That wasn't dmaz' question ;)
Title: Re: Steward's Tomb and the Ring
Post by: BigRedMF on August 14, 2014, 04:17:52 AM
Ah you're right, read it when I first woke up this morning...
Title: Re: Steward's Tomb and the Ring
Post by: sgtdraino on August 14, 2014, 05:13:58 AM
Just so I'm completely clear on all this now...

So the one ring does not "prevent" the wounds. BUT in a case where wounding the ringbearer is a cost for something, IF you use the ring to "convert" to burdens, you technically aren't paying the cost, right? I'm sure I've seen this happen with a Brute, but I just wanted to make sure :)

Whether you convert the wound with The One Ring, or prevent the wound using another card, if you aren't actually taking the wound, then you aren't paying the cost. With a Morgul Brute situation, you have to actually take the wound in order to prevent the burden.