LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Welcome, guests!

Join our growing LotR community today and you'll get:

  • Access to special members only-forums.
  • A great way to connect and hook up with other players.
  • Removal of advertisements in the forums and wiki.
  • The ability to list cards you want to trade or sell.
  • ...And much more!
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print

Author Topic: Easterling Polearm vs. PATHS  (Read 1477 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0rien
Goblin
*
Offline Offline

Formats: Movie
Posts: 9


« on: April 13, 2018, 03:05:35 AM »

I've got a question about Easterling Polearm, and when it kicks in to effect.  Sorry if already answered somewhere else, i tried searching but couldn't find anything.

Here's the scenario.
Frodo has 1 burden.
An exhausted Easterling with the Polearm is assigned to him, and i play PATHS.
What happens first, do i get to place the wound and kill the minion or does the Polearm spot the 2 burdens and prevent the wound?

Similar to what TheJord wrote http://lotrtcgwiki.com/forums/index.php/topic,3491.0.html , Nothing happens in LOTR TCG simultaneously, so what has priority, and why?
Logged


Legion
Villager
****
Offline Offline

Gemp: Legion
Formats: Block-FotR, TTT, even (especially!) King and WotR
Posts: 288


« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2018, 06:17:38 AM »

Costs happen before effects.
Therefore when PAthS is played, one burden is added.
-This causes the text of Easterling Polearm to kick in (bearer cannot take wounds)
Then you wound every minion skirmishing the ringbearer.
-However this doesn't happen due to the polearm's text.

I hope that's clear. Another example is Black Rider exerting to play Relentless Charge with no other wounded minions and Rumil, Silvan Elf in play.
You exert the Black Rider as the cost before the effect is calculated. This causes Rumil to become an archer as you can now spot a wounded minion.
Then the effect is calculated, so Rumil gets wounded along with every other archer companion.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2018, 06:21:44 AM by Legion » Logged
0rien
Goblin
*
Offline Offline

Formats: Movie
Posts: 9


« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2018, 10:16:07 AM »

Thanks Legion.
I assumed that was the case but wishful thinking hade me hoping  Smiley
Logged
Qiugiyaz
Neekerbreeker

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2018, 09:38:07 PM »

I want to bring something Can this be developed and disseminated?
Logged
DerekjB85
Goblin
*
Offline Offline

Formats: Expanded
Posts: 22


« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2018, 07:25:50 AM »

"Costs happen before effects."

Is paying twilight, or remoing twilight a cost?
Logged
Wyrden333
Troll
***
Offline Offline

Gemp: Wyrden333
Formats: Fellowship, Towers, Towers Standard and King Standard
Posts: 159


« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2018, 11:15:02 AM »

If you mean the twilight cost of a card, yes that is a cost. Anything else on the card is depending on
                                      ^----------------------------
 Anything else on the card is depending on wording. A cost is normally 'Do X to do Y'
So i.E.
-'Remove 1 to "do sth".'
-'Exert sb to "do sth".'
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
Jump to: