LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

The Lord of the Rings TCG Wiki: Cliffs of Emyn Muil (4R299)

Cliffs of Emyn Muil (4R299)

Previous Card

Go to The Two Towers Index

Next Card

Cliffs of Emyn Muil (4R299) Card Image

Set: The Two Towers
Kind: Free People
Culture: Shire
Twilight: 0
Card Type: Condition
Game Text: Plays to your support area. When the fellowship moves from site 1T, remove up to 2 burdens. Skirmish: Discard this condition to wound a minion a Hobbit companion is skirmishing.
Lore: ”'We've escaped from the Emyn Muil!'”
Rarity: R

The information presented above about LoTR TCG, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Decipher Inc. This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Decipher.

Cliffs of Emyn Muil (4R299) Wiki

General Strategy

A common sight in any wounding deck with Shire companions, the skirmish ability of Cliffs of Emyn Muil provides a reliable way to deliver wounds and kill off threatening minions with low vitality. When combined with Shire cards like Frying Pan, Mind Your Own Affairs, or Power According to His Stature, Hobbits may become formidable fighters against minions with low vitality. Cross-culture, it is especially popular in Towers formats when the fellowship has a focus on archery, discouraging a Shadow player from leaving a minion with 1 vitality (often at the cost of killing a minion off). With backup events, the Free Peoples may coax a Shadow player into discarding key cards such as Hides or Goblin Armory (especially when skirmishing the Ring-Bearer) in vain hope of killing that Hobbit.

While its passive text isn't always used, it's a great bonus if you manage to draw Cliffs of Emyn Muil early. A player may be tempted to put many copies in a deck in order to reliably remove burdens moving from site 1T, but since Cliffs of Emyn Muil is unique extra copies will be useless if the Free Peoples draws several at once or hasn't discarded a previous copy yet. Because the card's passive text is worthless if drawn after Site 1T, it should not be relied upon for burden removal.

Cliffs of Emyn Muil only wounds minions skirmishing a Hobbit, so it is not uncommon for the Ring-bearer to be the only character capable of utilizing its skirmish text. This can be particularly dangerous if Cliffs of Emyn Muil is wholly relied on to win a skirmish, as a Shadow player may sacrifice Hides or Goblin Armory to keep a minion alive. Because it is a condition, the Shadow Player will expect it and might purposefully keep a minion's vitality low to surprise a player with an event such as All Blades Perish or Sweeter Meats (though these are not often played).

Strengths and Weaknesses

Strong Versus...

Weak Versus...

Example Decks

  • Decklists or links to decks that use this card.

Rules and Clarifications

  • Unless the site 1 is from Towers Block, Cliffs of Emyn Muil will not remove burdens.

Extra Information

  • Add other information regarding printing, rarity, trivia, etc.

DO NOT EDIT OR REMOVE THIS LINE.

This page has been moved, the new location is Cliffs of Emyn Muil (4R299).
lotr04299wiki.txt · Last modified: 2017/07/31 11:35 by Phallen Cassidy

Except where otherwise noted, content on this wiki is licensed under the following license: CC Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported