The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: Kralik on April 21, 2009, 09:06:17 PM

Title: Winning Skirmish Responses
Post by: Kralik on April 21, 2009, 09:06:17 PM
OK, I think either this has been covered before or I've asked it before, but I'm thinking of a particular potent card combination and order is important. Rather than give away my brilliant strategy (:uh-huh:), let's deal with [Gollum] cards:

If you have Gollum, Stinker in play and he wins a skirmish, can you play You're A Liar and a Thief as a response to wound a companion before optionally adding the burden?

If I understand the order of optional ("may") actions correctly, you can choose when to play the response, correct?
Title: Re: Winning Skirmish Responses
Post by: Gil-Estel on April 22, 2009, 12:04:12 AM
And if I remember correctly, if he does win and you play you're a liar and a thief, have incited, exert him to take another copy of you're a liar and a thief that is also allowed isn't it? Can I take back the YalaaT I used in the first action?
Title: Re: Winning Skirmish Responses
Post by: Thranduil on April 22, 2009, 12:12:01 AM
OK, I think either this has been covered before or I've asked it before, but I'm thinking of a particular potent card combination and order is important. Rather than give away my brilliant strategy (:uh-huh:), let's deal with [Gollum] cards:

If you have Gollum, Stinker in play and he wins a skirmish, can you play You're A Liar and a Thief as a response to wound a companion before optionally adding the burden?

If I understand the order of optional ("may") actions correctly, you can choose when to play the response, correct?
The order would go something this:

1) Stinker wins a skirmish
      i) Required actions are performed in an order decided by the Free Peoples player
      ii) Optional actions are performed following the normal order, so
            a) FP player gets to use responses and other optional actions
            b) Shadow player gets to use responses and other optional actions etc.

So, if Stinker wins a fight, the FP player gets the chance to respond to that trigger first, but then you can use You're a Liar and A Thief, which can then be followed by adding a burden (with a FP action slotted in the middle). And yes, you can then exert Gollum with Incited and play You're a Liar and a Thief again. I'm pretty sure this is correct, following the rules indicated under "Action" in the comprehensive rules glossary.

Thranduil
Title: Re: Winning Skirmish Responses
Post by: Kralik on April 22, 2009, 07:20:32 AM
Assuming the Freeps has no responses (and ignoring Incited for now ;)), you could play YaLaaT either before or after burden adding then?
Title: Re: Winning Skirmish Responses
Post by: Thranduil on April 22, 2009, 09:24:48 AM
Assuming the Freeps has no responses (and ignoring Incited for now ;)), you could play YaLaaT either before or after burden adding then?
From what I'm getting from the comp rules, I think you can.

Thranduil