OK, I think either this has been covered before or I've asked it before, but I'm thinking of a particular potent card combination and order is important. Rather than give away my brilliant strategy (
), let's deal with
cards:
If you have Gollum, Stinker in play and he wins a skirmish, can you play You're A Liar and a Thief as a response to wound a companion before optionally adding the burden?
If I understand the order of optional ("may") actions correctly, you can choose when to play the response, correct?
The order would go something this:
1)
Stinker wins a skirmish
i) Required actions are performed in an order decided by the Free Peoples player
ii) Optional actions are performed following the normal order, so
a) FP player gets to use responses and other optional actions
b) Shadow player gets to use responses and other optional actions etc.
So, if
Stinker wins a fight, the FP player gets the chance to respond to that trigger first, but then you can use
You're a Liar and A Thief, which can then be followed by adding a burden (with a FP action slotted in the middle). And yes, you can then exert Gollum with
Incited and play
You're a Liar and a Thief again. I'm pretty sure this is correct, following the rules indicated under "Action" in the comprehensive rules glossary.
Thranduil