LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Winning Skirmish Responses  (Read 3683 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

April 21, 2009, 09:06:17 PM
Read 3683 times

Kralik

  • Guest
Winning Skirmish Responses
« on: April 21, 2009, 09:06:17 PM »
OK, I think either this has been covered before or I've asked it before, but I'm thinking of a particular potent card combination and order is important. Rather than give away my brilliant strategy (:uh-huh:), let's deal with [Gollum] cards:

If you have Gollum, Stinker in play and he wins a skirmish, can you play You're A Liar and a Thief as a response to wound a companion before optionally adding the burden?

If I understand the order of optional ("may") actions correctly, you can choose when to play the response, correct?

April 22, 2009, 12:04:12 AM
Reply #1

Gil-Estel

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2267
  • Abuser of the Force
Re: Winning Skirmish Responses
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2009, 12:04:12 AM »
And if I remember correctly, if he does win and you play you're a liar and a thief, have incited, exert him to take another copy of you're a liar and a thief that is also allowed isn't it? Can I take back the YalaaT I used in the first action?
..."Elves seldom give unguarded advice, for advice is a dangerous gift, even from the wise to the wise, and all courses may run ill"...

April 22, 2009, 12:12:01 AM
Reply #2

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Winning Skirmish Responses
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2009, 12:12:01 AM »
OK, I think either this has been covered before or I've asked it before, but I'm thinking of a particular potent card combination and order is important. Rather than give away my brilliant strategy (:uh-huh:), let's deal with [Gollum] cards:

If you have Gollum, Stinker in play and he wins a skirmish, can you play You're A Liar and a Thief as a response to wound a companion before optionally adding the burden?

If I understand the order of optional ("may") actions correctly, you can choose when to play the response, correct?
The order would go something this:

1) Stinker wins a skirmish
      i) Required actions are performed in an order decided by the Free Peoples player
      ii) Optional actions are performed following the normal order, so
            a) FP player gets to use responses and other optional actions
            b) Shadow player gets to use responses and other optional actions etc.

So, if Stinker wins a fight, the FP player gets the chance to respond to that trigger first, but then you can use You're a Liar and A Thief, which can then be followed by adding a burden (with a FP action slotted in the middle). And yes, you can then exert Gollum with Incited and play You're a Liar and a Thief again. I'm pretty sure this is correct, following the rules indicated under "Action" in the comprehensive rules glossary.

Thranduil

April 22, 2009, 07:20:32 AM
Reply #3

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: Winning Skirmish Responses
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2009, 07:20:32 AM »
Assuming the Freeps has no responses (and ignoring Incited for now ;)), you could play YaLaaT either before or after burden adding then?

April 22, 2009, 09:24:48 AM
Reply #4

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Winning Skirmish Responses
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2009, 09:24:48 AM »
Assuming the Freeps has no responses (and ignoring Incited for now ;)), you could play YaLaaT either before or after burden adding then?
From what I'm getting from the comp rules, I think you can.

Thranduil