The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: jdizzy001 on July 02, 2009, 05:15:37 PM

Title: Transfers
Post by: jdizzy001 on July 02, 2009, 05:15:37 PM
Gamling Dutiful Marshal says one may transfer weapons during a skirmish.  Must one pay a twilight cost to do this, or simply move the card for free?  Also, is there a way to transfer conditions?
Title: Re: Transfers
Post by: Elessar's Socks on July 02, 2009, 06:18:00 PM
The twilight cost has to be paid again. I don't think there's a generic way of transferring conditions among characters, unless you count Strange-looking Men / Swarthy Bree-lander (which is out of your control as the Free Peoples player :P).
Title: Re: Transfers
Post by: legolas3333 on July 02, 2009, 10:36:16 PM
the ages end conditions can be transferred though and stern words is pretty generic
Title: Re: Transfers
Post by: Thranduil on July 03, 2009, 01:31:24 AM
The twilight cost has to be paid again.
Are you sure? Stern Words uses exactly the same phrasing and I know that you do not have to pay its twilight cost again.

Thranduil
Title: Re: Transfers
Post by: Elessar's Socks on July 03, 2009, 02:52:13 AM
No, I do need to correct that (misread part of the transfer entry). Using the built-in rule, the cost of transferring would be to pay the twilight cost again. Outside this rule, transferring is free--any costs are handled by the card allowing the transfer (in the case of Surrendered Weapons, adding [1]).

Better? ;)
Title: Re: Transfers
Post by: chompers on July 03, 2009, 03:29:59 AM
I have always paid the cost again for all transfers including surrendered weapons and stern words. I do like this ruling as it makes the cards much more potent.
Title: Re: Transfers
Post by: jdizzy001 on July 03, 2009, 08:43:46 AM
Can shadow possessions be transferred between minions?
Title: Re: Transfers
Post by: Thranduil on July 03, 2009, 08:59:47 AM
That's what I thought, ES! My world nearly collapsed around me... ;)

Can shadow possessions be transferred between minions?
No. There is no general rule that allows you to do this, but theoretically you could if there was a card that did it.

Thranduil