The Last Homely House

Middle-Earth => Archives of Minas Tirith => Topic started by: sharkey on December 13, 2009, 09:03:23 AM

Title: Unhasty + Undisciplined
Post by: sharkey on December 13, 2009, 09:03:23 AM
Unhasty + Undisciplined... how does this work if the shadow player assigns, lets say Treebeard, to a skirmish? Does the Treebeard still need to allowed to skirmish by an unbound hobbit, therefore causing the hobbit to exert? And what happens if all unbound hobbits are dead/exhausted? Then what?

The unhasty gametext says: To allow treebeard to skirmish, exert and unbound hobbit.  
Title: Re: Unhasty + Undisciplined
Post by: Elessar's Socks on December 13, 2009, 09:14:53 AM
The unhasty keyword goes:

"The Free Peoples player cannot assign a character with this keyword to a skirmish unless it is at its home site (see ally) or when a [Gandalf] card allows it do so. Shadow players may assign any leftover unassigned minions to unhasty companions."

Shadow player assigns a minion to Treebeard, and that's it. ;)
Title: Re: Unhasty + Undisciplined
Post by: sharkey on December 13, 2009, 09:17:40 AM
Okay, I was looking at Treebeard, Guardian of the Forest game text. Makes sense.
Title: Re: Unhasty + Undisciplined
Post by: ket_the_jet on December 13, 2009, 04:58:27 PM
or when a [Gandalf] card allows it do so

Does it specifically say [Gandalf] card allows them? I thought it just said, "if a card allows them." It doesn't matter outside of in Dream Card sets making a [Shire] unbound hobbit that could affect the unhasty keyword.
-wtk
Title: Re: Unhasty + Undisciplined
Post by: Imrahil on December 20, 2009, 10:53:10 AM
I dunno of Undisciplined would even allow Treebeard to be assigned.  His effect prevents him from skirmishing entirely unless the cost is met, I would assume that would prevent any skirmish involving any minion, no matter if they try to assign themselves.  Although, granted, this is a little problematic for gameplay.
Title: Re: Unhasty + Undisciplined
Post by: TheJord on December 20, 2009, 11:02:28 AM
The Comp Rules say

Shadow players may assign any leftover unassigned minions to unhasty companions.

Undisciplined works on unhasty companions
Title: Re: Unhasty + Undisciplined
Post by: Elessar's Socks on December 20, 2009, 11:48:49 AM
The unhasty keyword stops only the FP player from assigning Treebeard to a skirmish. It's not the same as "This companion cannot be assigned to a skirmish."
Title: Re: Unhasty + Undisciplined
Post by: Imrahil on April 15, 2010, 08:02:11 AM
Oops, there goes that idea.  Dang it.
Title: Re: Unhasty + Undisciplined
Post by: Thranduil on April 15, 2010, 08:17:54 AM
or when a [Gandalf] card allows it do so

Does it specifically say [Gandalf] card allows them? I thought it just said, "if a card allows them." It doesn't matter outside of in Dream Card sets making a [Shire] unbound hobbit that could affect the unhasty keyword.
-wtk
The current unhasty requires a [Gandalf] card to allow you to assign them to skirmishes. You are probably thinking of my dream cards, when I updated the keyword to replace "[Gandalf] card" with "Free Peoples card". But the real rules are [Gandalf] only.
Title: Re: Unhasty + Undisciplined
Post by: Sam, Great Elf Warrior on April 15, 2010, 08:24:23 AM
or when a [Gandalf] card allows it do so

Does it specifically say [Gandalf] card allows them? I thought it just said, "if a card allows them." It doesn't matter outside of in Dream Card sets making a [Shire] unbound hobbit that could affect the unhasty keyword.
-wtk
The current unhasty requires a [Gandalf] card to allow you to assign them to skirmishes. You are probably thinking of my dream cards, when I updated the keyword to replace "[Gandalf] card" with "Free Peoples card". But the real rules are [Gandalf] only.
Yeah, the first unhasty characters were allies, and Decipher didn't want anyone using Horn of Boromir or the like to let them skirmish.

When you think about it, if it just said "if a card allows them" the part about the home site wouldn't make sense, because the only people with home sites are allies, who already can't skirmish except at their home sites or if a card allow them to.