Author |
Message |
Foresight |
Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 5:44 pm |
|
|
Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 557
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
|
When you play a card, can it spot itself? For example, if I play From Deep In Shadow, can I count the card itself as a culture card I can spot? |
In his eyes was the look of a hunted beast seeking some gap in the ring of his enemies.  |
|
Back to top |
|
elf lvr |
Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 5:50 pm |
|
|
Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 3065
Location: Rivendell
|
First off, events never hit the table, they go straight from your hand to your discard pile, so, that card couldn’t spot itself.
And for cards with spotting requirements, no, because you have to spot the others to get the card in play. |
Happy Hunting! Elf Lvr
Winner of Best Personality in the FPCA. Thanks!
Archduke Elf Lvr - Archidoux of the Chosen Ones
AMV Maker In-Training! Check out my newest production, Katsu!- A Diedara Tribute!
And behold, EL declared it good. And there was morning, and there was evening, the first (new) day. ~ DainIronfoot |
|
Back to top |
|
TheJord |
Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 5:50 pm |
|
|
Joined: 16 Feb 2007
Posts: 486
Location: UK
|
No. Before a card comes into play it is in a ’void’ where it is neither in your hand or in play and all requirements to play it, and its ensuing results, are done without it being included in any spotting requirements.
For example, Undaunted can only boost Gandalf for the twilight already in the pool, not with those used for paying for the card. |
"The rule of Gondor is mine!" |
|
Back to top |
|
elf lvr |
Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 5:51 pm |
|
|
Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 3065
Location: Rivendell
|
Void, discard pile, same difference.  |
Happy Hunting! Elf Lvr
Winner of Best Personality in the FPCA. Thanks!
Archduke Elf Lvr - Archidoux of the Chosen Ones
AMV Maker In-Training! Check out my newest production, Katsu!- A Diedara Tribute!
And behold, EL declared it good. And there was morning, and there was evening, the first (new) day. ~ DainIronfoot |
|
Back to top |
|
TheJord |
Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 5:53 pm |
|
|
Joined: 16 Feb 2007
Posts: 486
Location: UK
|
That was just a CRD reference, probably not helpful if I didnt point that out  |
"The rule of Gondor is mine!" |
|
Back to top |
|
Foresight |
Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 6:14 pm |
|
|
Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 557
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
|
Thanks for helping a fella’ out. I’ll grant you both a for the swift responses. |
In his eyes was the look of a hunted beast seeking some gap in the ring of his enemies.  |
|
Back to top |
|
corvus |
Posted: Wed May 09, 2007 1:10 am |
|
|
Joined: 13 Oct 2006
Posts: 1696
Location: Roaming, but dangerous!!!
|
TheJord wrote: For example, Undaunted can only boost Gandalf for the twilight already in the pool, not with those used for paying for the card.
That is incorrect. All costs most be paid before any effects take place. Exerting and placing the twilight (cost) is before spotting the twilight (effect). |
Click here if you want to trade some foils away
Far, Far beyond the island we dwelt in shapes of twilight
Through draught and weary days
Through grief and endless pain |
|
Back to top |
|
TheJord |
Posted: Wed May 09, 2007 1:50 pm |
|
|
Joined: 16 Feb 2007
Posts: 486
Location: UK
|
I stand corrected. I had mistaken something I had read. My apologies. |
"The rule of Gondor is mine!" |
|
Back to top |
|
NBarden |
Posted: Wed May 09, 2007 3:04 pm |
|
|
Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 5468
Location: I don't know...
|
|
Back to top |
|
corvus |
Posted: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 pm |
|
|
Joined: 13 Oct 2006
Posts: 1696
Location: Roaming, but dangerous!!!
|
Nope. |
Click here if you want to trade some foils away
Far, Far beyond the island we dwelt in shapes of twilight
Through draught and weary days
Through grief and endless pain |
|
Back to top |
|
|