LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

 
Cobra Cards Player Community Forum Index
 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
Author Message
fishfleas
Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:49 am
Joined: 09 May 2007 Posts: 33 Location:
BW is right,
Strength in Spirit doesn’t prevent the exertion, it prevents the placement of the token.

It’s all in the wording... Smile
TheJord
Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 2:25 pm
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 Posts: 486 Location: UK
I never said it prevented the exertion, I just said it effectively prevents you paying that cost.

Very pedantic BW.
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"
BattleWarg
Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 3:48 pm
Joined: 11 Feb 2007 Posts: 579 Location:
TheJord wrote:
You can use Strength of Spirit to prevent paying a cost. I dont see why Narsil, Blade of the Faithful can’t do the same.

No mention of "effectively", just that it prevents a cost (the exertion). Mr. Green

And that’s the difference - prevent the cost, prevent the effect. Prevent the effect of the cost, don’t prevent the effect. (Now, that’s an odd wording)
Our time here is ending...

What did you want to see before the end?
It will be made in the Request-a-card Set #1 (name ideas also welcome Smile).
TheJord
Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 5:49 pm
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 Posts: 486 Location: UK
So could you intimidate to prevent the wound to Faramir’s ability?
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"
AnxiousChieftain
Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 5:51 pm
Joined: 15 Jul 2005 Posts: 3947 Location: Maryland
Yeah, you could attempt to use Faramir’s ability and then use Intimidate to cancel the wound, but I’m pretty sure that if you did that then you wouldn’t be able to use the effect of Faramir’s ability.

- AC
MODS RULE. - lem0nhead
BattleWarg
Posted: Sat Jun 02, 2007 12:53 am
Joined: 11 Feb 2007 Posts: 579 Location:
AnxiousChieftain wrote:
Yeah, you could attempt to use Faramir’s ability and then use Intimidate to cancel the wound, but I’m pretty sure that if you did that then you wouldn’t be able to use the effect of Faramir’s ability.

- AC

That’s what we’re thinking.

However, if you had something to the effect of:

2 Glancing Blow Gandalf
Event • Response
If a companion is about to take a wound, spot Gandalf to place no token for that wound.

You could use that to effectively have one use per event of: "Add 2 and spot Gandalf to make a minion roaming until the end of the turn."

(side note: twilight cost is +1 for advantage of allowing you to pay costs requiring a wound, but -1 for not being a spell)
Our time here is ending...

What did you want to see before the end?
It will be made in the Request-a-card Set #1 (name ideas also welcome Smile).

Display posts from previous:  

 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
All times are UTC - 4
Page 2 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
View previous topic   View next topic