LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

 
Cobra Cards Player Community Forum Index
 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
Author Message
CarpeGuitarrem
Posted: Tue Dec 26, 2006 8:26 pm
Joined: 07 Apr 2006 Posts: 3361 Location: Franciscan University of Steubenville
Yes, but what’s at question is whether you can use the same exert for both abilities. And the answer is no. Why?

Because you can’t combine two abilities. In every D starter rulebook, it gives the following example:
D wrote:
If one card says "Fellowship: Play an Elf from your draw deck." and another card says, "Fellowship: Play an Elf to draw a card.", you cannot play one Elf from your draw deck to draw a card. You must choose one phase action or the other.
"ok, change of plans. the Cobracards christmas party is coming to my house, and we’re gunna teach FM how to hunt." (mm)
Naphtali
Posted: Tue Dec 26, 2006 8:52 pm
Joined: 26 Dec 2006 Posts: 43 Location: Chicago, IL
oh lol.. I feel very silly. I didn’t realize that was the question. Yes, I agree with you. Both abilities can not be done with 1 exert. You must exert twice. Thnx again.
CarpeGuitarrem
Posted: Tue Dec 26, 2006 9:05 pm
Joined: 07 Apr 2006 Posts: 3361 Location: Franciscan University of Steubenville
You are correct on that answer...good catch on that...that he doesn’t lose archer but just add to the archery total.
"ok, change of plans. the Cobracards christmas party is coming to my house, and we’re gunna teach FM how to hunt." (mm)
NBarden
Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 2:02 pm
Joined: 28 Dec 2006 Posts: 5468 Location: I don't know...
corvus wrote:
Keep in mind, that before a skirmish is resolved, the strength of the characters may be reduced below zero as per the rulebook.


So, if both characters’ strength is reduced to zero, would they overwhelm each other?
Exclamation-Trade With MeExclamation
Popcorn Add the popcorn smiley to your sig, help it achieve world domination.
What if the hokey pokey really IS what its all about? Shocked
As I lay in bed staring at the stars last night, I thought to myself, "where the heck is the ceiling?"
Arrow Spotlight on....Sense of Obligation.
corvus
Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 2:07 pm
Joined: 13 Oct 2006 Posts: 1696 Location: Roaming, but dangerous!!!
NBarden wrote:
corvus wrote:
Keep in mind, that before a skirmish is resolved, the strength of the characters may be reduced below zero as per the rulebook.


So, if both characters’ strength is reduced to zero, would they overwhelm each other?


No, the shadow player wins the skirmish! I know it because it has happened to me and our judge was present at that game. (Ferevellon and enduring evil)
Click here if you want to trade some foils away Wink
Far, Far beyond the island we dwelt in shapes of twilight
Through draught and weary days
Through grief and endless pain
NBarden
Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 12:47 am
Joined: 28 Dec 2006 Posts: 5468 Location: I don't know...
But the shadow player is double the free people’s strength, and the free people is double the shadow player’s strength Very Happy
Exclamation-Trade With MeExclamation
Popcorn Add the popcorn smiley to your sig, help it achieve world domination.
What if the hokey pokey really IS what its all about? Shocked
As I lay in bed staring at the stars last night, I thought to myself, "where the heck is the ceiling?"
Arrow Spotlight on....Sense of Obligation.
bibfortuna25
Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 2:00 am
Joined: 05 Apr 2006 Posts: 615 Location: Springfield, OR
It doesn’t matter. There is a specific rule governing 0 vs 0 ties. The Shadow side wins and the FP takes 1 wound as usual.
All cards do what they say.
NBarden
Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 7:43 pm
Joined: 28 Dec 2006 Posts: 5468 Location: I don't know...
ok, but if one character can pump itself up by one, then that character overwhelms the other, right?
Exclamation-Trade With MeExclamation
Popcorn Add the popcorn smiley to your sig, help it achieve world domination.
What if the hokey pokey really IS what its all about? Shocked
As I lay in bed staring at the stars last night, I thought to myself, "where the heck is the ceiling?"
Arrow Spotlight on....Sense of Obligation.
AnxiousChieftain
Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 7:48 pm
Joined: 15 Jul 2005 Posts: 3947 Location: Maryland
Yep. A strength of 1 overwhelms a strength of 0.
MODS RULE. - lem0nhead
CarpeGuitarrem
Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 8:07 pm
Joined: 07 Apr 2006 Posts: 3361 Location: Franciscan University of Steubenville
Because 2 times 0 is 0! Very Happy

I always find that interesting...
"ok, change of plans. the Cobracards christmas party is coming to my house, and we’re gunna teach FM how to hunt." (mm)

Display posts from previous:  

 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
All times are UTC - 4
Page 2 of 3 [25 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
View previous topic   View next topic