LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

 
Cobra Cards Player Community Forum Index
 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
Author Message
taipan
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 1:14 pm
Joined: 14 Sep 2006 Posts: 177 Location: DF - BRAZIL
Hi,
If Hill Orc wins a skirmish against, I don’t no, Ingold for example, assume that Ingold have 1 wound and resistence 3. Hill Orc’s text says that I may exert every companion with resistence 4 or less.
Should I put the exert BEFORE Ingold takes the wound for lose the skirmish?

Thanks
Merrick_Hale
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 2:12 pm
Joined: 13 Apr 2006 Posts: 445 Location: Austin, Texas
No. The order you should always do actions in is required then optional.

From the Comprehensive Rules 4.0 action entry on page 7:
"All required actions responding to a particular trigger are performed before any optional actions. After all such required actions have resolved, players may perform optional actions responding to that same trigger using the action procedure. (See response.)"

Placing the wounds from losing a skirmish is a required action and thus must take place before the optional game text (as indicated by the word "may") on the Hill Orc takes place. So the order looks like this:

1) Compare Strengths after both players have passed consecutively.
2) The character losing the skirmish is announced. Place wounds from losing the skirmish.
3) If a character is killed, place threats on your companions as wounds.
4) Optional game text can now be used (exert each companion with resistance 4 or less from the Hill Orc)
Aaron Rhinehart
Rider of Rohan (retired)
DAgent #417 (retired)

This Incognito is a smooth operator - Lem0nhead
taipan
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 2:39 pm
Joined: 14 Sep 2006 Posts: 177 Location: DF - BRAZIL
Hum...how sad...

And those response actions about "wins a skirmish"? Should I do after wins a skirmish and before place a wound? Or the freeps side must place the wounds first?

Anyway, thanks Very Happy
bibfortuna25
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 2:44 pm
Joined: 05 Apr 2006 Posts: 615 Location: Springfield, OR
Placing a wound is a mandatory response. If there are any other mandatory responses to winning, the FP can choose in which order they occur.

Once you have completed all mandatory responses, then you move on to optional responses.
All cards do what they say.
Felipe Musco
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 2:46 pm
Joined: 18 May 2006 Posts: 2434 Location: Florianópolis, SC, Brasil
Actually, unless I’m mistaken, it goes like this:
Figure out the winning party in a skirmish. When that is done, appropriate wounds are put and the skirmish is over, so, you see, wounding is PART of ending a skirmish. AFTER that is that exertions take place.
I don't like YOU.
taipan
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 2:52 pm
Joined: 14 Sep 2006 Posts: 177 Location: DF - BRAZIL
Ok, this clear up my mind.

Thanks guys.
elf lvr
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 3:20 pm
Joined: 13 Jun 2006 Posts: 3065 Location: Rivendell
But, remember also that each time actions take place before response actions. Not sure if it is relevant to the Hill Orc thing but it is still important (Incited+YALAAT)
Happy Hunting! Elf Lvr
Winner of Best Personality in the FPCA. Thanks!
Archduke Elf Lvr - Archidoux of the Chosen Ones
AMV Maker In-Training! Check out my newest production, Katsu!- A Diedara Tribute!
And behold, EL declared it good. And there was morning, and there was evening, the first (new) day. ~ DainIronfoot
taipan
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 4:03 pm
Joined: 14 Sep 2006 Posts: 177 Location: DF - BRAZIL
So, if Gollum wins Can I exert him with Incited to take YALAAT to use in same skirmish, right?
bibfortuna25
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 4:06 pm
Joined: 05 Apr 2006 Posts: 615 Location: Springfield, OR
Yes. Both Incited and You’re a Liar and a Thief are optional actions with the same trigger.
All cards do what they say.
elf lvr
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 4:10 pm
Joined: 13 Jun 2006 Posts: 3065 Location: Rivendell
But if you play a card to kill a companion DURING a skirmish, it still counts as winning the skirmish, again allowing you to take each time then response actions...

The Gollum culture is so much fun to manipulate.
Happy Hunting! Elf Lvr
Winner of Best Personality in the FPCA. Thanks!
Archduke Elf Lvr - Archidoux of the Chosen Ones
AMV Maker In-Training! Check out my newest production, Katsu!- A Diedara Tribute!
And behold, EL declared it good. And there was morning, and there was evening, the first (new) day. ~ DainIronfoot

Display posts from previous:  

 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
All times are UTC - 4
Page 1 of 2 [11 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
View previous topic   View next topic