LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

 
Cobra Cards Player Community Forum Index
 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
Author Message
ingold55
Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 7:04 pm
Joined: 10 Oct 2005 Posts: 1199 Location: Out on the front line
if i were to play a Gondor skirmish event, and had Anarion Lord of Anorien and Aragorn guide a protector in play, would I get to use both there abilities, or only one?
AnxiousChieftain
Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:19 pm
Joined: 15 Jul 2005 Posts: 3947 Location: Maryland
You could, in fact, do both. You would be using Anarion’s skirmish action, triggering Aragorn’s ’Each time...’ ability.

Here’s the catch: both of them reference minions they are skirmishing, and they are technically only skirmishing those minions if that companion is in the current skirmish. Otherwise they’re considered to be assigned to a skirmish.

Hope this helps!
MODS RULE. - lem0nhead
corvus
Posted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 6:31 am
Joined: 13 Oct 2006 Posts: 1696 Location: Roaming, but dangerous!!!
In other words:
You activate both texts in Anarion’s skirmish, and Aragorn’s has no effect, since he is not skirmishing anyone. (you pay the cost, which is to play an event and do as much of the effect as possible: nothing.)

You activate both texts in Aragorn’s skirmish, and Anarion’s text is activated, making the minion he is skirmishing (none such exists) strength -x.
Click here if you want to trade some foils away Wink
Far, Far beyond the island we dwelt in shapes of twilight
Through draught and weary days
Through grief and endless pain
ingold55
Posted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 12:13 am
Joined: 10 Oct 2005 Posts: 1199 Location: Out on the front line
if i am correct though, both just say "play a skirmish event" not "lay a skirmish event on this character..."

so does that change things?
AnxiousChieftain
Posted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 1:03 am
Joined: 15 Jul 2005 Posts: 3947 Location: Maryland
Nope. As I said earlier, you can use one skirmish event to activate both abilities, but you are only considered skirmishing a minion if both of you are participating in the current skirmish.
MODS RULE. - lem0nhead
CarpeGuitarrem
Posted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 1:14 am
Joined: 07 Apr 2006 Posts: 3361 Location: Franciscan University of Steubenville
Yup, this is a really important restriction. Otherwise, you could also have problems with 2-Vitality Southrons, Red Wrath, and Rider’s Mount. Okay, the horse exerts at the start of the skirmish, but can you exert the Southron to wound a non-skirmishing companion, avoiding the mount exert? The answer is...no.
"ok, change of plans. the Cobracards christmas party is coming to my house, and we’re gunna teach FM how to hunt." (mm)
bibfortuna25
Posted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 1:44 am
Joined: 05 Apr 2006 Posts: 615 Location: Springfield, OR
CarpeGuitarrem wrote:
Yup, this is a really important restriction. Otherwise, you could also have problems with 2-Vitality Southrons, Red Wrath, and Rider’s Mount. Okay, the horse exerts at the start of the skirmish, but can you exert the Southron to wound a non-skirmishing companion, avoiding the mount exert? The answer is...no.


*blinks*

Yeah, what he said.
All cards do what they say.
ingold55
Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:14 pm
Joined: 10 Oct 2005 Posts: 1199 Location: Out on the front line
ok, thanks. Smile

Display posts from previous:  

 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
All times are UTC - 4
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
View previous topic   View next topic