LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

 
Cobra Cards Player Community Forum Index
 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
Author Message
bobtheorc
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:01 pm
Joined: 19 Mar 2006 Posts: 1218 Location: Wow, its hot in Iowa
I was playing gagnut the other day and have a question about Grond, Hammer of the Underworld .

Can a player using Grond, Hammer of the Underworld remove zero tokens and discard a Sauron minion, to discard a free peoples card with a twilight cost of zero like Swept Away?
Exclamation Ban the Overpowered OrcsExclamation
"Don't panic, I have paper!" - Taipan Popcorn
Is that Grima, Grief Counselor? - legolamb
Bobtheorcs Uruk-Hai Dcs
Bob’s wonderful !! updated !! Trade list
TheJord
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:04 pm
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 Posts: 486 Location: UK
Whilst I have not heard an exact ruling on this, I assume its the same as the ruling for Terrible and Evil where you cannot exert 0 times to wound a Nazgul once. I would assume that means X can never equal zero, as in this case.

Many times have I wondered about how to discard those Dwarven rings...
corvus
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:09 pm
Joined: 13 Oct 2006 Posts: 1696 Location: Roaming, but dangerous!!!
The CRD clearly states that a character who must exert X times cannot exert 0 times as X. I have seen no other ruling concerning X as a zero so i would rule that you can. Come on, it’s pretty logic, Grond can discard anything but 0 twlight cards? Laughing Laughing Laughing
Click here if you want to trade some foils away Wink
Far, Far beyond the island we dwelt in shapes of twilight
Through draught and weary days
Through grief and endless pain
Felipe Musco
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:55 pm
Joined: 18 May 2006 Posts: 2434 Location: Florianópolis, SC, Brasil
Thing is, you cannot "exert 0 times", since exerting DOES demand placing a wound token. However, mind you, Grond it’s different from the event. The event DEMANDS an exertion, with the Nazgul part being an added bonus, while Grond demands discarding a minion (or itself) as a drawback, not as part of the activation cost itself. Also, there ARE possessions with a cost of 0, so as far as I’m concerned, you SHOULD be able to remove 0 tokens, but wait for a rules advisor to confirm it.
PS: Dwarven rings are Artifacts, and unless the rules changed, artifacts cannot be discarded by normal means (meanin a card that discards the appropriate type of possession), so Grond would not be able to discard a Ring of Fury.
I don't like YOU.
AnxiousChieftain
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:57 pm
Joined: 15 Jul 2005 Posts: 3947 Location: Maryland
Yes, you can remove 0 tokens and discard a Sauron minion to discard a 0-cost card.

FM: Artifacts can be discarded by Grond, because it discards any Free Peoples card (except companions), and there is no rule that says that Shadow cards cannot discard artifacts.
MODS RULE. - lem0nhead
sickofpalantirs
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:58 pm
Joined: 23 Mar 2006 Posts: 7750 Location: somwhere, over the rainbow way up high. There's a land that I heard of once in a lullaby.
now you ruined my entire strategy vs. GN(hey I missed a day I have to get back spamming Smile)
ArrowSop's haves/ top wantsExclamation
(mm)"SoP: you will always be the Official CC Spammer in my heart"
"DáinIronfoot"
Spammers really are amazing creatures. You can learn all there is to know about their ways in a month. And yet, after a hundred years, they can still surprise you. Razz
Merrick_Hale
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:21 pm
Joined: 13 Apr 2006 Posts: 445 Location: Austin, Texas
AC is correct:
0 cost free peoples’ cards (including artifacts) can be discarded by Grond, Hammer of the Underworld by removing 0 tokens from Grond and discarding a Sauron minion from play.
Aaron Rhinehart
Rider of Rohan (retired)
DAgent #417 (retired)

This Incognito is a smooth operator - Lem0nhead
AnxiousChieftain
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:22 pm
Joined: 15 Jul 2005 Posts: 3947 Location: Maryland
Also keep in mind that you can discard Grond to use its ability, meaning that if you need a way to get rid of a 0-cost card then you can splash it into any deck.
MODS RULE. - lem0nhead
BattleWarg
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:40 pm
Joined: 11 Feb 2007 Posts: 579 Location:
On a semi-related note, if a card that qualifies has text such as: "While you can spot 2 Gondor Knights, this card’s twilight cost is -2."

Assuming it is a 3 cost card, if you can spot 2 Gondor Knights, do you remove 1 token or 3 tokens to discard it? (I can’t find an example that it would apply to, but still...)
Our time here is ending...

What did you want to see before the end?
It will be made in the Request-a-card Set #1 (name ideas also welcome Smile).
corvus
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:55 pm
Joined: 13 Oct 2006 Posts: 1696 Location: Roaming, but dangerous!!!
Card texts that affect another card’s twilight cost, ONLY affect that twilight cost when the card comes into play. We learned the hard way that Elrohir and Elladan don’t give a 2 twilight gap in the starting fellowship.

Thus, you use the twilight, AKA what is printed on the card.
Click here if you want to trade some foils away Wink
Far, Far beyond the island we dwelt in shapes of twilight
Through draught and weary days
Through grief and endless pain

Display posts from previous:  

 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
All times are UTC - 4
Page 1 of 3 [21 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
View previous topic   View next topic