LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

 
Cobra Cards Player Community Forum Index
 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
Author Message
TheJord
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:23 am
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 Posts: 486 Location: UK
When I do something that lets me control a site, can a control a site that someone else has already controlled or does it have to be an unoccupied site on the adventure path?
JayPL
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:40 am
Joined: 15 Nov 2006 Posts: 62 Location: Far, far away
you may take control of the first uncontrolled site on the adventure path provided all fellowships passed that site.

expample:
your opponent took control of site 1, his fellowship is on site 4, your fellowship is on site 3 - you can control site 2 but you cannot control site 3
TheJord
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:46 am
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 Posts: 486 Location: UK
But my point was could I take site 1 if I wanted to?
lem0nhead
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 7:15 am
Joined: 02 Apr 2007 Posts: 2981 Location: Blood Island
Not if someone else has site 1 no. You cannot effectively "steal" a site from someone. it’s the next free site on the path, so in your example would have to be 2. Or at least you cant do that yet anyway.... Hmmm interesting thought for future cards... Spot 3 X and remove 3 to transfer a controlled site from another shadow player’s support area to yours.... Hehehehe
Last edited by lem0nhead on Tue Apr 24, 2007 7:48 am; edited 1 time in totalBan shampoo, demand real poo.
Popcorn My Trade List and CC References
"Smart guy, especially considering his head is filled with lemon juice and seeds. That boy’s juicy brain is FULL of good stuff" ~ DainIronfoot
"No fair! And all I got was an oily unconscious steward!" ~ Pippin.
"Okay, stop me if you've heard this one. An elf, a man, and a dwarf walk into the Riddermark..." ~ Eomer
Merrick_Hale
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 7:21 am
Joined: 13 Apr 2006 Posts: 445 Location: Austin, Texas
The rules for site control are as follows:

control
Shadow players may use effects to take control of sites on the adventure path. When you take control of a site, place that site in your support area, lengthwise.
A Shadow player may only take control of a site on the adventure path if all player markers are on sites with higher site numbers.
When all player markers are at site 2 or higher, you may take control of site 1.
When a Shadow player takes control of a site, the site on the adventure path with the lowest site number must be selected.
An opponent controls site 1 and all player markers are at site 3 or higher, so you must take control of site 2.
The game text of a controlled site cannot be used by any player. Exception: The keywords of a controlled site still apply.
A player may “control a battleground.”
When your opponent controls a site from your adventure deck, it’s still your site.
Some cards can replace a controlled site. Move any cards stacked on the site being replaced to the new site, then return the old site to its owner’s adventure deck.

The biggest thing that you have to keep in mind is that when you take control of a site, it must be the site with the lowest number that is currently on the site path that both players have passed. A site that is already controlled by another player is no longer on the site path and thus is not a valid target for controlling.

For example both players are at site 5. Your opponent controls sites 1 and 2. Site 3 is the first site that is on the path that both players have passed. If you take control of a site, you will control site 3 since it is the site on the adventure path with the lowest site number and both players are on sites with a higher number.

This question is very easily answered by the comprehensive rule book. If you are able, please download a copy of it and consult it. Asking questions here is great and I want to encourage you to continue doing so, but with a little bit of research I’m sure that you would be able to answer most basic questions like this that are clearly spelled out in the rule book.
Aaron Rhinehart
Rider of Rohan (retired)
DAgent #417 (retired)

This Incognito is a smooth operator - Lem0nhead
NBarden
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 5:47 pm
Joined: 28 Dec 2006 Posts: 5468 Location: I don't know...
Merrick_Hale wrote:
The game text of a controlled site cannot be used by any player. Exception: The keywords of a controlled site still apply.
A player may “control a battleground.”


Nurn?

So, if I’m at site 3 and my friend is at site 4, can I take control of site 2 if site 1 is uncontrolled?
Exclamation-Trade With MeExclamation
Popcorn Add the popcorn smiley to your sig, help it achieve world domination.
What if the hokey pokey really IS what its all about? Shocked
As I lay in bed staring at the stars last night, I thought to myself, "where the heck is the ceiling?"
Arrow Spotlight on....Sense of Obligation.
TheJord
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 5:49 pm
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 Posts: 486 Location: UK
No its has to be the site on the adventure path with the lowest number.
Merrick_Hale
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 7:03 pm
Joined: 13 Apr 2006 Posts: 445 Location: Austin, Texas
NBarden wrote:
Merrick_Hale wrote:
The game text of a controlled site cannot be used by any player. Exception: The keywords of a controlled site still apply.
A player may “control a battleground.”


Nurn?

So, if I’m at site 3 and my friend is at site 4, can I take control of site 2 if site 1 is uncontrolled?
In this case, the card overrides the rule. The card references itself and states the case when its game text can be used. Since its game text can only be used when controlled it overrides the general rule.

If you take control of a site, you must take control of the site that has the lowest number that is still on the site path. In this case you must control site 1.
Aaron Rhinehart
Rider of Rohan (retired)
DAgent #417 (retired)

This Incognito is a smooth operator - Lem0nhead
TheJord
Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 9:37 am
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 Posts: 486 Location: UK
Another question along the same line; If a site is controlled, by the Shadow player who is currently playing his FP turn, can cards like Lost in the Woods and other site spotting boosts spot these sites or not?

For example, my besiegers have 4 sites controlled. I play as my Knights against my friends Nazgul. Can Lost in the Woods spot the Forest’s I have taken control of?
lem0nhead
Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 9:46 am
Joined: 02 Apr 2007 Posts: 2981 Location: Blood Island
Unless a card says so like "if you control a battleground" then sites that are controlled cannot be spotted nor anything on them. Lost in the woods will only work with sites on the adventure path, regardless of whose turn it is.
Ban shampoo, demand real poo.
Popcorn My Trade List and CC References
"Smart guy, especially considering his head is filled with lemon juice and seeds. That boy’s juicy brain is FULL of good stuff" ~ DainIronfoot
"No fair! And all I got was an oily unconscious steward!" ~ Pippin.
"Okay, stop me if you've heard this one. An elf, a man, and a dwarf walk into the Riddermark..." ~ Eomer

Display posts from previous:  

 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
All times are UTC - 4
Page 1 of 2 [14 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
View previous topic   View next topic