LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

 
Cobra Cards Player Community Forum Index
 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
Author Message
broly1
Posted: Thu May 24, 2007 3:08 am
Joined: 24 May 2007 Posts: 3 Location:
Hello! I’m new in LOTRTCG and I have some questons. The first ones:

1.Advance Captain 10 R 7; “Each roaming SAURON minion is damage+1”

The roaming minions have damage +1 until the end of the shadow turn including the “Advanced Captain”? If the “Advanced Captain” is killed first, the other minions are still damage +1? If there is a fierce roaming minion and the “Advanced Captain” is killed the first time, when the fierce minion atacks the second time, still have damage +1?

2. Troll of Cirith Gorgor 10 R 101; “Damage +1. Fierce. To splay, spot a Sauron minion. This minion is strenght +1 for each possession you can spot”

Including the possession of my opponent/s?
3. Blood runs chill 8 R 3; “Spot a Dwarf who is damage +X and exert that Dwarf twice to make an opponent discart X Shadow cards.

To discard from play and not from hand?

4. Terrible and evil 7 R 50; “Spell. Exert Gandalf X times to wound a minion X times. If that minion is a Nazgul, wound it again.

You wound the Nazgul again X times or only one time?

5. Out of the high airs 10 R 17; “If the fellowship moves during the regroup phase, exert your Wizard to discard each minion.”

If you have 2 Wizards, you exert only one - anyone you want?

6. Sharpen your swords 7 U 47; “Spot Gandalf to make a Gondor companion strenght +1 for each Gondor companion you spot (limit +4).”

If there are 2 Gondor companions, one companion will be strenght +1 or +2?

7. Knight’s spear 7 C 108; “Bearer must be a Gondor Man. Skirmish: If you cannot spot 2 threats, add a threat to make bearer strenght +1”

The 2 threats must be on my dead pile or they may be on my opponent deat pile? And the threat that I add, I will add to my dead pile, right?

8. Bold men and grim 7 R 129; “To play, spot 2 Raider Men and add a threat. Each time a companion is about to be killed, you may remove a threat to discard a companion (except the Ring-bearer). Discard this condition at the start of the regroup phase.”

So.... I play this card on my Shadow turn and I use it on my Free Peoples turn? I understand how I use these card, but when I must discard it? After 1 turn or after I discard a companion or when...?

Thank you very much!
Foresight
Posted: Thu May 24, 2007 5:10 am
Joined: 06 Feb 2007 Posts: 557 Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
broly1 wrote:
Hello! I’m new in LOTRTCG


Welcome! Cool

broly1 wrote:
1.Advance Captain 10 R 7; “Each roaming SAURON minion is damage+1”

The roaming minions have damage +1 until the end of the shadow turn including the “Advanced Captain”? If the “Advanced Captain” is killed first, the other minions are still damage +1? If there is a fierce roaming minion and the “Advanced Captain” is killed the first time, when the fierce minion atacks the second time, still have damage +1?


The roaming Sauron minions only have damage +1 while the Advance Captain is still in play. The fierce minion that attacks the second time is not damage +1 because the Advance Captain was killed.

broly1 wrote:
2. Troll of Cirith Gorgor 10 R 101; “Damage +1. Fierce. To splay, spot a Sauron minion. This minion is strenght +1 for each possession you can spot”

Including the possession of my opponent/s?


Correct.

broly1 wrote:
3. Blood runs chill 8 R 3; “Spot a Dwarf who is damage +X and exert that Dwarf twice to make an opponent discart X Shadow cards.

To discard from play and not from hand?


If a card does not specify where the cards are being discarded from, then it is from play.

broly1 wrote:
4. Terrible and evil 7 R 50; “Spell. Exert Gandalf X times to wound a minion X times. If that minion is a Nazgul, wound it again.

You wound the Nazgul again X times or only one time?


You exert Gandalf X times to wound the Nazgul, then you wound the Nazgul an additional time. Think of it as X + 1 for Nazgul.

broly1 wrote:
5. Out of the high airs 10 R 17; “If the fellowship moves during the regroup phase, exert your Wizard to discard each minion.”

If you have 2 Wizards, you exert only one - anyone you want?


Correct. If you have Radagast and Gandalf out, you can exert either one of them.

broly1 wrote:
6. Sharpen your swords 7 U 47; “Spot Gandalf to make a Gondor companion strenght +1 for each Gondor companion you spot (limit +4).”

If there are 2 Gondor companions, one companion will be strenght +1 or +2?


Strength +2, since there are 2 Gondor companions you can spot. If you had 3, then it would be strength +3 and so on. Just to a limit of 4.

broly1 wrote:
7. Knight’s spear 7 C 108; “Bearer must be a Gondor Man. Skirmish: If you cannot spot 2 threats, add a threat to make bearer strenght +1”

The 2 threats must be on my dead pile or they may be on my opponent deat pile? And the threat that I add, I will add to my dead pile, right?


When a threat is added, it always goes on the free peoples player’s dead pile.

broly1 wrote:
8. Bold men and grim 7 R 129; “To play, spot 2 Raider Men and add a threat. Each time a companion is about to be killed, you may remove a threat to discard a companion (except the Ring-bearer). Discard this condition at the start of the regroup phase.”

So.... I play this card on my Shadow turn and I use it on my Free Peoples turn? I understand how I use these card, but when I must discard it? After 1 turn or after I discard a companion or when...?


You play the card during your shadow phase. So after your shadow phase, you complete the others (Maneuver, Archery, Assignment, Skirmish). After those 4 are resolved, then it goes to the regroup. At the start of the regroup phase, you must discard that card.
In his eyes was the look of a hunted beast seeking some gap in the ring of his enemies. Men
broly1
Posted: Thu May 24, 2007 6:38 am
Joined: 24 May 2007 Posts: 3 Location:
Quote:

Welcome!


Thanks and thanks for your very fast replay!

1.
Quote:

The roaming minions only have damage +1 while the Advance Captain is still in play. The fierce minion that attacks the second time is not damage +1 because the Advance Captain was killed.


Ok, so if in play is Advance Captain and another minion - if the FP fights first the other minion, that minion is damage +1, but if the FP fights first and kills the Advance Captain, when he fights the other minion, the minion is not damage +1?

2.
Quote:


broly1 wrote:
7. Knight’s spear 7 C 108; “Bearer must be a Gondor Man. Skirmish: If you cannot spot 2 threats, add a threat to make bearer strenght +1”

The 2 threats must be on my dead pile or they may be on my opponent deat pile? And the threat that I add, I will add to my dead pile, right?


When a threat is added, it always goes on the free peoples player’s dead pile.



The threats that I spot may be on my dead pile or on my opponent’s pile, it doesn’t matter?

3.
Quote:

You play the card during your shadow phase. So after your shadow phase, you complete the others (Maneuver, Archery, Assignment, Skirmish). After those 4 are resolved, then it goes to the regroup. At the start of the regroup phase, you must discard that card.


So I play this card in my shadow phase and I add a threat to the dead pile of my opponent...
“Each time a companion is about to be killed, you may remove a threat to discard a companion (except the Ring-bearer).” – I don’t understand than.. It’s my shadow phase and when I’m about to kill one of my opponent companion I may remove a threat from his dead pile to discard one of his companion – anyone I want/he wants?
Hedgehog81
Posted: Thu May 24, 2007 7:29 am
Joined: 08 May 2007 Posts: 104 Location: Italy
1. You are correct

2. You spot only the active dead pile for treath

If u are the shadow player you spot your opponent Dead Pile
If u are the FP player u spot your Dead Pile

3. “Each time a companion is about to be killed, you may remove a threat to discard a companion (except the Ring-bearer).” your (Shadow Player) choice

Immagine a little companion about to be killed,you remove a treath from your opponent Dead Pile and discard a tank companion of your choice
1 dead and 1 discarded,....terrible. Twisted Evil
Felipe Musco
Posted: Thu May 24, 2007 11:05 am
Joined: 18 May 2006 Posts: 2434 Location: Florianópolis, SC, Brasil
Dude, the game has been announced dead this week. If you’ve just started, seize the opportunity to quit now. Laughing
I don't like YOU.
AnxiousChieftain
Posted: Thu May 24, 2007 1:48 pm
Joined: 15 Jul 2005 Posts: 3947 Location: Maryland
Don’t listen to FM... he’s a Magic player and just wants people to play Magic. Wink

Yes, the company (Decipher) announced that they are not making any more products past Treachery & Deceit + Age’s End, but the game won’t be dead. Star Wars CCG is another game that Decipher stopped making products for, and there are still lots of people who play it.

- AC
MODS RULE. - lem0nhead
Felipe Musco
Posted: Thu May 24, 2007 2:20 pm
Joined: 18 May 2006 Posts: 2434 Location: Florianópolis, SC, Brasil
Yeah, a whole four of them! Twisted Evil
I don't like YOU.
elf lvr
Posted: Thu May 24, 2007 2:44 pm
Joined: 13 Jun 2006 Posts: 3065 Location: Rivendell
broly1 wrote:
Hello! I’m new in LOTRTCG and I have some questons. The first ones:

1.Advance Captain 10 R 7; “Each roaming SAURON minion is damage+1”

The roaming minions have damage +1 until the end of the shadow turn including the “Advanced Captain”? If the “Advanced Captain” is killed first, the other minions are still damage +1? If there is a fierce roaming minion and the “Advanced Captain” is killed the first time, when the fierce minion atacks the second time, still have damage +1?


No. The effect ends when the minion is not in play, because without the minion, what is there to keep the effect going?

Quote:
2. Troll of Cirith Gorgor 10 R 101; “Damage +1. Fierce. To splay, spot a Sauron minion. This minion is strenght +1 for each possession you can spot"

Including the possession of my opponent/s?

Yup. It doesn’t specify your possessions, so it’s any ACTIVE possessions. But remember that cards in discard plies, cards stacked on conditions, the fellowship cards of the current shadow player, and the shadow cards of the current fellowship player are all inactive.

Quote:
3. Blood runs chill 8 R 3; “Spot a Dwarf who is damage +X and exert that Dwarf twice to make an opponent discart X Shadow cards.

To discard from play and not from hand?


Yup. Each time a card says "discard" it means "discard from play." You can only discard from hand when a card specifies that you can.

Quote:
4. Terrible and evil 7 R 50; “Spell. Exert Gandalf X times to wound a minion X times. If that minion is a Nazgul, wound it again.

You wound the Nazgul again X times or only one time?

It wounds the Nazgul X+1 times.

Quote:
5. Out of the high airs 10 R 17; “If the fellowship moves during the regroup phase, exert your Wizard to discard each minion.”

If you have 2 Wizards, you exert only one - anyone you want?

Any one you’d like, so long as it’s yours.

Quote:
6. Sharpen your swords 7 U 47; “Spot Gandalf to make a Gondor companion strenght +1 for each Gondor companion you spot (limit +4).”

If there are 2 Gondor companions, one companion will be strenght +1 or +2?

That event makes the companion strength +1 for each Gondor companion you can spot, including the one getting the effect. So yes, +2.

Quote:
7. Knight’s spear 7 C 108; “Bearer must be a Gondor Man. Skirmish: If you cannot spot 2 threats, add a threat to make bearer strenght +1”

The 2 threats must be on my dead pile or they may be on my opponent deat pile? And the threat that I add, I will add to my dead pile, right?

The threat is added to your dead pile, since your dead pile is the only active one, on account of you being the fellowship player.

Quote:
8. Bold men and grim 7 R 129; “To play, spot 2 Raider Men and add a threat. Each time a companion is about to be killed, you may remove a threat to discard a companion (except the Ring-bearer). Discard this condition at the start of the regroup phase.”

So.... I play this card on my Shadow turn and I use it on my Free Peoples turn? I understand how I use these card, but when I must discard it? After 1 turn or after I discard a companion or when...?

No. You use it on your opponent’s turn, and to play it, you add a threat on their dead pile, since it’s the active one. You can use the effect at any time until the regroup phase, and whether you’ve used it or not, it is discarded at the start of the very next regroup phase.

Quote:
Thank you very much!


Any time. Wink
Happy Hunting! Elf Lvr
Winner of Best Personality in the FPCA. Thanks!
Archduke Elf Lvr - Archidoux of the Chosen Ones
AMV Maker In-Training! Check out my newest production, Katsu!- A Diedara Tribute!
And behold, EL declared it good. And there was morning, and there was evening, the first (new) day. ~ DainIronfoot
elf lvr
Posted: Thu May 24, 2007 2:47 pm
Joined: 13 Jun 2006 Posts: 3065 Location: Rivendell
broly1 wrote:


The threats that I spot may be on my dead pile or on my opponent’s pile, it doesn’t matter?


Nope. Only on the active dead pile, which belongs to the current Free Peoples player.


Quote:

So I play this card in my shadow phase and I add a threat to the dead pile of my opponent...
“Each time a companion is about to be killed, you may remove a threat to discard a companion (except the Ring-bearer).” – I don’t understand than.. It’s my shadow phase and when I’m about to kill one of my opponent companion I may remove a threat from his dead pile to discard one of his companion – anyone I want/he wants?


If you are about to kill a companion, you may remove a threat to discard any of your opponent’s companions that you want.

Then he places the other threats as wounds as usual, and the condition is discarded at the start of regroup.
Happy Hunting! Elf Lvr
Winner of Best Personality in the FPCA. Thanks!
Archduke Elf Lvr - Archidoux of the Chosen Ones
AMV Maker In-Training! Check out my newest production, Katsu!- A Diedara Tribute!
And behold, EL declared it good. And there was morning, and there was evening, the first (new) day. ~ DainIronfoot
broly1
Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 3:41 am
Joined: 24 May 2007 Posts: 3 Location:
Thank you all for your answers! I will have some other questions, but not today..
Even if the game will be dead, I’m a big fan of Tolkien universe and it’s a pleasure for me to play it. Smile

Display posts from previous:  

 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
All times are UTC - 4
Page 1 of 2 [15 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
View previous topic   View next topic