LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

 
Cobra Cards Player Community Forum Index
 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
Author Message
Foresight
Posted: Mon May 28, 2007 10:11 pm
Joined: 06 Feb 2007 Posts: 557 Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Trust me as you once did

Ok, so I had this come up in a game once. Can I exert Gandalf once to get the +3 limit of all 4 if I have 4 copies in play, or do I have to exert Gandalf for each copy of Trust me as you once did in play? I’m going strongly for the latter, but 2 tournament directors ruled it the former way.
In his eyes was the look of a hunted beast seeking some gap in the ring of his enemies. Men
NBarden
Posted: Mon May 28, 2007 10:14 pm
Joined: 28 Dec 2006 Posts: 5468 Location: I don't know...
You exert Gandalf to get +3. You have four copies in play. You can exert up to 4 times, getting +3 each time.

Because each one triggers separately. Each has its own skirmish action, you can’t combine them.
Exclamation-Trade With MeExclamation
Popcorn Add the popcorn smiley to your sig, help it achieve world domination.
What if the hokey pokey really IS what its all about? Shocked
As I lay in bed staring at the stars last night, I thought to myself, "where the heck is the ceiling?"
Arrow Spotlight on....Sense of Obligation.
Foresight
Posted: Mon May 28, 2007 10:15 pm
Joined: 06 Feb 2007 Posts: 557 Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
That’s what I thought! But I’m telling you, actual tournament directors ruled it the combinment way. Made it rather broken to make somebody strength +12 with a single exertion. Rolling Eyes
In his eyes was the look of a hunted beast seeking some gap in the ring of his enemies. Men
Merrick_Hale
Posted: Tue May 29, 2007 8:07 am
Joined: 13 Apr 2006 Posts: 445 Location: Austin, Texas
If this happens again point them to this:
Lindenroot, Elder Shepherd and Treebeard, Guardian of the Forest

Both have the same costing text in the assignment phase:
"Exert an unbound hobbit..."

If you have both of these in play, could you exert one unbound hobbit once to allow both of them to skirmish? Of course not. This is because they are separate Phase actions:

PHASE ACTIONS
During each phase of a turn, one or more players are allowed to perform phase actions that use a word matching the name of that phase. These words are printed in boldface and followed by a colon.
Each phase action lasts for the duration of the phase named in the boldface word (unless otherwise specified).
The effects of a phase action with the keyword Skirmish: last only for the skirmish phase in which it is used.
Each phase action must be completely performed before another phase action can be performed. Phase actions cannot be combined.

Each instance of the word Skirmish: indicates a separate phase action.

If pointing out the rules doesn’t work, tell the TD to think of each copy of Trust Me as you once did as a separate vending machine. If you have 4 coke machines in the same room and you put your money into one of them (Exert gandalf) would you expect to get a coke out of each of them (make a companion strength +1 for each companion with the Gandalf signet you can spot)?
Aaron Rhinehart
Rider of Rohan (retired)
DAgent #417 (retired)

This Incognito is a smooth operator - Lem0nhead
hawkeyespf
Posted: Tue May 29, 2007 5:02 pm
Joined: 25 Oct 2006 Posts: 198 Location: Round Lake IL
Wow, have things fallen off that much since I left? What happened, who are these new TD’s who can’t tell a Phase Action from an "Each Time"?

Let me know when there might be another tourney out there and I’ll try and make it, but probably only if it’s Standard - though I might think about it if it’s Expanded.

Steve

Display posts from previous:  

 Forum index » Lord of the Rings TCG » LOTR TCG Gameplay Questions
All times are UTC - 4
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
View previous topic   View next topic