LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Losing fierce  (Read 4057 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

October 28, 2008, 06:14:36 PM
Read 4057 times

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Losing fierce
« on: October 28, 2008, 06:14:36 PM »
NK and I came across this one today

I had 6 threats out, 2 minions bearing Beast of War. A companion dies and threat wounds are taken. The 2nd minion is yet to skirmish, but is now no longer fierce. Does the skirmish continue?
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

October 28, 2008, 06:54:26 PM
Reply #1

DáinIronfoot

  • Bearded Axeman
  • ********
  • Information Offline
  • Maia
  • Posts: 6162
  • Never tickle a Dwarf!
Re: Losing fierce
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2008, 06:54:26 PM »
If the minion's already been assigned, then I think the skirmish has to take place. But I confess I don't know for sure.
Best regards,
Dáin


Check out Lasting Alliances and The Road Ahead, my two completed DC sets, and also The Way Into Mordor (in progress), all part of my 5-set Wars of the Ring DC "block".

October 28, 2008, 07:04:35 PM
Reply #2

Elf_Lvr

  • ******
  • Information Offline
  • Lord
  • Posts: 3628
  • Rhythmic Ringwraith
Re: Losing fierce
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2008, 07:04:35 PM »
If he's already assigned, then I believe the skirmish would still happen.
Happy Hunting!
Remember Cobracards.com.
Thou cannot unjack what doth hath been jacked. - Menace64
"To die's the day worth livin' for!"
Maybe you guys can find a bard and have your story of heroic Balrog proximity put into verse.

October 29, 2008, 06:12:37 AM
Reply #3

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: Losing fierce
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2008, 06:12:37 AM »
So then it depends on whether the companion was killed before or after the fierce assignment phase.

October 29, 2008, 07:40:41 AM
Reply #4

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Losing fierce
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2008, 07:40:41 AM »
So then it depends on whether the companion was killed before or after the fierce assignment phase.
Essentially, yes. I agree with EL and DI, though I couldn't give a seriously definitive answer.

Thranduil

November 01, 2008, 07:20:49 PM
Reply #5

Elf_Lvr

  • ******
  • Information Offline
  • Lord
  • Posts: 3628
  • Rhythmic Ringwraith
Re: Losing fierce
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2008, 07:20:49 PM »
I don't think a skirmish would miraculously be canceled once a minion is already assigned.

Think of it this way, I suppose - making a minion lose fierce with Eowyn, Northwoman during the fierce assignment phase by assigning it to the Ring-bearer wouldn't cancel that skirmish, would it? That just seems silly. Making a minion lose fierce with Phial of Galadriel, Star-Glass doesn't cancel skirmishes, either, right?

Though I don't think there's a definitive ruling on this it's probably safe to assume the skirmish still happens.
Happy Hunting!
Remember Cobracards.com.
Thou cannot unjack what doth hath been jacked. - Menace64
"To die's the day worth livin' for!"
Maybe you guys can find a bard and have your story of heroic Balrog proximity put into verse.

November 02, 2008, 06:22:52 AM
Reply #6

Pepin The Breve

  • Well-spoken Gentlehobbit
  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 503
Re: Losing fierce
« Reply #6 on: November 02, 2008, 06:22:52 AM »
  If the minion is already assigned the skirmish proceeds as usual.

  From Rulebook:

 "Once a minion is assigned in the fierce assignment phase, that minion's fierce skirmish must be resolved, even if that minion somehow becomes no longer fierce."


 :up: