LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: shadowfax GotM  (Read 6486 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

August 24, 2009, 06:24:46 PM
Read 6486 times

St. Grimmin

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 115
shadowfax GotM
« on: August 24, 2009, 06:24:46 PM »
a little confused about the text. says discard all possesions and can't bear a hand weapon. so does that mean he can bear other possesions after you play it as long as its not a hand weapon like radagasts herb bag? thanks for the input
Molan Labe

August 24, 2009, 06:53:10 PM
Reply #1

MR. Lurtzy

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2745
  • Wouldn't it be nice if we were Hodor?
    • My website
Re: shadowfax GotM
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2009, 06:53:10 PM »
So long as it is not a hand weapon, the companion can bear possessions after GoTM is played.

August 24, 2009, 07:01:57 PM
Reply #2

Sid the Squid

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 21
  • "I, am the defender of Rohan"
Re: shadowfax GotM
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2009, 07:01:57 PM »
cool thanks Lurtzy

August 24, 2009, 07:08:11 PM
Reply #3

St. Grimmin

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 115
Re: shadowfax GotM
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2009, 07:08:11 PM »
excellent   :hey:
Molan Labe

August 25, 2009, 01:45:16 AM
Reply #4

Gil-Estel

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2266
  • Abuser of the Force
Re: shadowfax GotM
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2009, 01:45:16 AM »
The game text should be: When you play Shadowfax, remove it from the game.....ridiculous card.....
..."Elves seldom give unguarded advice, for advice is a dangerous gift, even from the wise to the wise, and all courses may run ill"...

August 25, 2009, 04:21:47 AM
Reply #5

FM

  • Future Judge
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4074
Re: shadowfax GotM
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2009, 04:21:47 AM »
I'm sorry, but since the card doesn't say "to play, discard all possessions...", it SHOULD mean that it is a continuous effect, meaning, the card is CONSTANTLY discarding other possessions, meaning you COULD play possessions on him, but they'd be instantly discarded. Why doesn't it work this way?

August 25, 2009, 04:45:18 AM
Reply #6

HawkeyeSPF

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 639
Re: shadowfax GotM
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2009, 04:45:18 AM »
but it also doesn't say "bearer may not bear other possessions or hand weapons", which would be consistent wording, especially for the effect you think it should have.

August 25, 2009, 08:25:51 AM
Reply #7

FM

  • Future Judge
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4074
Re: shadowfax GotM
« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2009, 08:25:51 AM »
That is indeed a good point. But even so, it IS poor wording, then, one way or another. ;)

August 25, 2009, 08:38:13 AM
Reply #8

HawkeyeSPF

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 639
Re: shadowfax GotM
« Reply #8 on: August 25, 2009, 08:38:13 AM »
no doubts there. it's hard sometimes, as a designer, to step back from the text and try to see what you're writing as game text makes sense (intent-wise) from a player's perspective, as if reading it for the first time.

August 25, 2009, 11:01:22 AM
Reply #9

MR. Lurtzy

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2745
  • Wouldn't it be nice if we were Hodor?
    • My website
Re: shadowfax GotM
« Reply #9 on: August 25, 2009, 11:01:22 AM »
Honestly I don't see the problem, the text looks pretty straightforward to me.

August 25, 2009, 11:11:48 AM
Reply #10

Olorin

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 508
  • You shall not pass!
Re: shadowfax GotM
« Reply #10 on: August 25, 2009, 11:11:48 AM »
Obviously the card text confuses some people here... therefore I would apprecciate if at least you guys speak in clear words... so now:

If Shadowfax GoM is played - all possessions from bearer get discarded - right? - Ok.

But:

May I play THEN another possession (e.g. Glamdring [hand weapon], or radagast's herb bag [no weapon]) on bearer - would this possession then be discarded or stay in play?  ???
Mithrandir I am known to the Elves, Tharkun to the dwarves; Olorin was the name in my youth in the West which is forgotten, in the South Incanus, in the North Gandalf; into the East I will not go."

August 25, 2009, 11:28:46 AM
Reply #11

MR. Lurtzy

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2745
  • Wouldn't it be nice if we were Hodor?
    • My website
Re: shadowfax GotM
« Reply #11 on: August 25, 2009, 11:28:46 AM »
You cannot play Glamdring, as it is a handweapon, but any other possession is fine to play.

August 25, 2009, 11:31:35 AM
Reply #12

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2059
  • He/Him/His
Re: shadowfax GotM
« Reply #12 on: August 25, 2009, 11:31:35 AM »
Obviously the card text confuses some people here... therefore I would apprecciate if at least you guys speak in clear words... so now:

If Shadowfax GoM is played - all possessions from bearer get discarded - right? - Ok.

But:

May I play THEN another possession (e.g. Glamdring [hand weapon], or radagast's herb bag [no weapon]) on bearer - would this possession then be discarded or stay in play?  ???

You cannot play Glamdring, as it is a hand weapon. You can, however, play Radagast's Herb Bag or Salt of the Shire or any other eligible possession that is not a hand weapon. Keep in mind as well that Gandalf's Staff is an artifact.
-wtk

August 25, 2009, 01:43:11 PM
Reply #13

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: shadowfax GotM
« Reply #13 on: August 25, 2009, 01:43:11 PM »
The wording is very mirky, but I do believe the intention agrees with our general consensus. I think the card should be worded as:

"When you play Shadowfax, discard all other possessions borne by bearer. Bearer may not bear a hand weapon."

Thranduil

August 26, 2009, 12:00:43 PM
Reply #14

Olorin

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 508
  • You shall not pass!
Re: shadowfax GotM
« Reply #14 on: August 26, 2009, 12:00:43 PM »
The wording is very mirky, but I do believe the intention agrees with our general consensus. I think the card should be worded as:

"When you play Shadowfax, discard all other possessions borne by bearer. Bearer may not bear a hand weapon."

Thranduil

Well, if this is the consense here - I'll join your point of view.

I have been ruling that shadowfax always like: discard all other possessions all the time
Mithrandir I am known to the Elves, Tharkun to the dwarves; Olorin was the name in my youth in the West which is forgotten, in the South Incanus, in the North Gandalf; into the East I will not go."