LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Mind and Body  (Read 2141 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

April 21, 2010, 07:22:20 AM
Read 2141 times

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Mind and Body
« on: April 21, 2010, 07:22:20 AM »
Can Mind and Body be triggered by Ulaire Enquea, LoM or Ulaire Attea, The Easterling game text? So if one of them kills a character, can I play Mind and Body to wound everyone bearing a [Wraith] condition? I think I can because the card doesn't say kill in skirmish and the source of "murder" is a nazgul.
Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)

April 21, 2010, 07:27:52 AM
Reply #1

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Mind and Body
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2010, 07:27:52 AM »
Can Mind and Body be triggered by Ulaire Enquea, LoM or Ulaire Attea, The Easterling game text? So if one of them kills a character, can I play Mind and Body to wound everyone bearing a [Wraith] condition? I think I can because the card doesn't say kill in skirmish and the source of "murder" is a nazgul.
I think so. The source of the game text is a Nazgûl and it causes a companion to be killed, so my first instinct would be yes. Not certain though.

April 21, 2010, 07:30:42 AM
Reply #2

Sam, Great Elf Warrior

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Horseman
  • Posts: 303
Re: Mind and Body
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2010, 07:30:42 AM »
I'm pretty sure I remember hearing that The Ring's Oppression only applied to skirmishes, in which case that would be the case here as well.

April 21, 2010, 08:27:38 AM
Reply #3

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Mind and Body
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2010, 08:27:38 AM »
Holy smokes, Sam. Thanks to that, found this relic from the 11/20/2001 AtFAQ:

Quote
The Ring's Oppression Clarification
A [Sauron] Orc kills a companion when the game text that kills that companion comes from a [Sauron] Orc minion card, or that companion is killed by losing a skirmish involving a [Sauron] minion.
So Thran's reasoning sounds good to me--it looks like the source ruling holds.

April 21, 2010, 08:32:48 AM
Reply #4

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Mind and Body
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2010, 08:32:48 AM »
I'm pretty sure I remember hearing that The Ring's Oppression only applied to skirmishes, in which case that would be the case here as well.
Yeah, from this FAQ, you get:

"A [Sauron] Orc kills a companion when the game text that kills that
companion comes from a [Sauron] Orc minion card, or that companion
is killed by losing a skirmish involving a [Sauron] Orc minion."

April 21, 2010, 09:19:30 AM
Reply #5

Sam, Great Elf Warrior

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Horseman
  • Posts: 303
Re: Mind and Body
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2010, 09:19:30 AM »
Okay, so Shotgun Enquea or The Easterling would trigger Mind and Body, but not Relentless Charge or Their Power is in Terror (nor would it work if the character is killed by Orc Soldier 's ability in a skirmish involving a Nazgul).