LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: 6R46 They Stole It  (Read 5269 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

April 21, 2009, 03:06:49 AM
Read 5269 times

MuadDib85

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 940
6R46 They Stole It
« on: April 21, 2009, 03:06:49 AM »
This is probably a very stupid question....

6R46 They Stole It

If there are 4 of these in play.... Does that mean discard 3 cards for 4 wounds?? or is still 3 cards for 1 wound?

Can someone please give me an example of how condition stacking (more than 1x copy of the same card) actually helps?

I'm sure when I was learning this game a couple years ago, my friend used to nail me with They Stole It all the time... Was he using it wrong: 4x copies = 3 discards for 4 wounds?

I would argue that if I get 4 wounds he would have to discard 12 cards.... but then what would be the point of more than 1x copy in play?

Any help would be appreciated...Thanks in advance for all responses.


April 21, 2009, 03:34:40 AM
Reply #1

lem0nhead

  • Vegetarian Cannibal
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4205
  • Juicy Fruit
Re: 6R46 They Stole It
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2009, 03:34:40 AM »
This is probably the number one question i see asked the most which deals with combining phase actions.

If you see an ability that has a phase in bold i.e.

Skirmish:
Response:
Regroup:


You cannot combine these actions. Each one is an individual thing. They stole it is 3 cards per wound. If you think about it having another copy out is only like using the same ability on one card twice. You can discard 3 to wound. Then you can discard three to wound again. You could do this with one two or four of They Stole It in play.

Only things that say "Each time" for example can be responded to on multiple copies of cards. Take a look at sudden fury as a great example. If you have 3 copies of this card out, and sam loses a fight, the "each time" bit is valid on all three so you get a token on each. But then to boost his strength, removing one token does not give you +3 it is only valid on the card you have used the action on so he gets +1. This should clear it up for you.

So to answer your question as to what use more than one has, the simple answer is none unless your opponent has condition discard stuff in his deck then having more than 1 cuts down on the chances you will lose all copies of the card. Also because it is not unique it wont clog your hand as you can play it even if another copy is in play.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2009, 03:36:31 AM by lem0nhead »
Ban shampoo, demand real poo.
That's like having "Some Who Ride Ponies" as a Rohan follower. ~ Dain Ironfoot.

April 21, 2009, 04:33:44 AM
Reply #2

Vroengard

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Bowman
  • Posts: 424
Re: 6R46 They Stole It
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2009, 04:33:44 AM »
besides the rule stuff it is an very evil card, combines with not this time!  :twisted:

April 21, 2009, 09:40:19 AM
Reply #3

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: 6R46 They Stole It
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2009, 09:40:19 AM »
As another example, say you play 2x Morgul Gates (Shadow:) or its newer version, Dark Approach. You cannot stack the twilight reduction bonuses on a single Nazgul. Each one acts individually, so you would have to have 2 Nazgul to play.

April 21, 2009, 07:27:36 PM
Reply #4

Bombadil

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Orc
  • Posts: 32
Re: 6R46 They Stole It
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2009, 07:27:36 PM »
Your friend was probably using Promise Keeping (8R24). Thats why you had more wounds on your companions than expected with just 3 cards for They Stole It. Each time he used one condition, the other would be activated, so discard 3 cards to wound, and if not prevented, exert a companion (the same or another one).

July 20, 2009, 03:05:51 PM
Reply #5

Ungoliant

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 9
Re: 6R46 They Stole It
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2009, 03:05:51 PM »
So I was reading this and I am all confused now...  ??? Using your ruling does that mean cards like Shoulder to Shoulder, Not the First Halfling, Doom Drove Them, and Their Marching Companies not stack either?

July 20, 2009, 03:36:16 PM
Reply #6

Elgar

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 103
Re: 6R46 They Stole It
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2009, 03:36:16 PM »
So I was reading this and I am all confused now...  ??? Using your ruling does that mean cards like Shoulder to Shoulder, Not the First Halfling, Doom Drove Them, and Their Marching Companies not stack either?

Stack is a bad word, as it has its own game definition.

Those cards that you quote do not combine.  You can only use one at a time.  That is, regardless of the number of them in play, each is its own action.

The analogy that made the most sense to me is the vending machine analogy.  If sodas cost $1, your $1 is only going to get you one soda, no matter how many vending machines you have.  You can still choose which machine to put your $1, but you can only choose one.

July 20, 2009, 05:10:32 PM
Reply #7

Ungoliant

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 9
Re: 6R46 They Stole It
« Reply #7 on: July 20, 2009, 05:10:32 PM »
Ok so how about cards like Dark Ways and Swept Away if I have multiple Copies do I add multiple Threats?

July 20, 2009, 06:51:35 PM
Reply #8

ephen

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Scout
  • Posts: 93
Re: 6R46 They Stole It
« Reply #8 on: July 20, 2009, 06:51:35 PM »
Yes, those would add multiple threats if you had multiple copies because they say "each time" so each copy gets triggered.

July 21, 2009, 09:13:02 AM
Reply #9

Ungoliant

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 9
Re: 6R46 They Stole It
« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2009, 09:13:02 AM »
Ok now dealing with stacks and combining if I played Loyalty Unshaken (7R10) and put 2 cards on it then later played Loyalty Unshaken (7R10) with 2 more cards would that condition combine so now I have 4 cards on two copies of Loyalty Unshaken or two copies of it with 2 cards each?

July 21, 2009, 09:15:27 AM
Reply #10

HawkeyeSPF

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 639
Re: 6R46 They Stole It
« Reply #10 on: July 21, 2009, 09:15:27 AM »
Loyalty Unshaken references itself (this condition, meaning this individual physical card), so you would end up with 2 copies of the card on the table with 2 cards on each.