LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Quick noob question...  (Read 6141 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

January 18, 2010, 02:14:36 PM
Read 6141 times

timmyd42

  • Guest
Quick noob question...
« on: January 18, 2010, 02:14:36 PM »
Hi folks, so I'm a little late to the game...
A quick question, does the key word Valiant do anything?

January 18, 2010, 02:17:34 PM
Reply #1

Gil-Estel

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2267
  • Abuser of the Force
Re: Quick noob question...
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2010, 02:17:34 PM »
it is an unloaded keyword, so not to be compared to unloaded ones as skirmish, maneuver or other phaseactions. It does do something, some cards take advantage of spotting a Valiant man. Simbelmyne for instance.
..."Elves seldom give unguarded advice, for advice is a dangerous gift, even from the wise to the wise, and all courses may run ill"...

January 18, 2010, 02:24:13 PM
Reply #2

timmyd42

  • Guest
Re: Quick noob question...
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2010, 02:24:13 PM »
Thanks for the quick reply. 

January 18, 2010, 04:21:35 PM
Reply #3

Sam, Great Elf Warrior

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Horseman
  • Posts: 303
Re: Quick noob question...
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2010, 04:21:35 PM »
Many keywords (ranger, unbound, beseiger, machine, fortification, forest, etc.) are similarly unloaded, and are designed solely to be referenced by other cards (e.g. "Spot a ranger to do X."). The only keywords that have any inherent effect (loaded keywords) are as follows:

Ambush [X] - Each time this minion is assigned to a skirmish by the Free Peoples' player, its owner may add [X].
Archer - The fellowship/minion archery total is +1.
Damage +X - Each time this character wins a skirmish, each losing character takes X additional wounds.
Defender +X - If this character may participate in skirmishes, the Free Peoples' player may assign this character to up to X+1 minions.
Enduring - This character is strength +2 for each wound on it.
Fierce - This minion may participate in fierce skirmishes.
Hunter X - While skirmishing a non-hunter, this character is strength +X.
Lurker - The Free Peoples' player may not resolve a skirmish involving this minion unless all unresolved skirmishes involve at least one lurker minion. 
Muster - At the start of the regroup phase, you may discard a card to draw a card (all your muster discards must take place simultaneously, prior to drawing any such cards).
Ring-bearer - This companion must be the Ring-bearer (i.e. he may not be in play unless he is the Ring-bearer; unlike companions with ringed resistance, who may be played as normal companions).
Sanctuary - At the start of each turn at this site, the Free Peoples player may remove up to 5 wounds from companions. Note that all sites 3 and 6 are automatically sanctuaries, whether they explicitly say so or not (the term "sanctuary" was, in effect, transformed from a keyword into an independent mechanic when Decipher decided to make site order malleable in Shadows).
Toil X - When you play this card, you may exert any number of characters from its culture to make its twilight cost -X for each character exerted in this way.
Unhasty - The Free Peoples player may not assign this character to a skirmish unless a [Gandalf] card permits you to do so. Exception: Unhasty allies may be assigned to skirmishes when at their home sites.

All keywords other than those above are unloaded, and have no inherent effect.

January 19, 2010, 10:24:37 AM
Reply #4

OneFathom

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Bowman
  • Posts: 407
Re: Quick noob question...
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2010, 10:24:37 AM »
Many keywords (ranger, unbound, beseiger, machine, fortification, forest, etc.) are similarly unloaded, and are designed solely to be referenced by other cards (e.g. "Spot a ranger to do X."). The only keywords that have any inherent effect (loaded keywords) are as follows:

Ambush [X] - Each time this minion is assigned to a skirmish by the Free Peoples' player, its owner may add [X].
Archer - The fellowship/minion archery total is +1.
Damage +X - Each time this character wins a skirmish, each losing character takes X additional wounds.
Defender +X - If this character may participate in skirmishes, the Free Peoples' player may assign this character to up to X+1 minions.
Enduring - This character is strength +2 for each wound on it.
Fierce - This minion may participate in fierce skirmishes.
Hunter X - While skirmishing a non-hunter, this character is strength +X.
Lurker - The Free Peoples' player may not resolve a skirmish involving this minion unless all unresolved skirmishes involve at least one lurker minion. 
Muster - At the start of the regroup phase, you may discard a card to draw a card (all your muster discards must take place simultaneously, prior to drawing any such cards).
Ring-bearer - This companion must be the Ring-bearer (i.e. he may not be in play unless he is the Ring-bearer; unlike companions with ringed resistance, who may be played as normal companions).
Sanctuary - At the start of each turn at this site, the Free Peoples player may remove up to 5 wounds from companions. Note that all sites 3 and 6 are automatically sanctuaries, whether they explicitly say so or not (the term "sanctuary" was, in effect, transformed from a keyword into an independent mechanic when Decipher decided to make site order malleable in Shadows).
Toil X - When you play this card, you may exert any number of characters from its culture to make its twilight cost -X for each character exerted in this way.
Unhasty - The Free Peoples player may not assign this character to a skirmish unless a [Gandalf] card permits you to do so. Exception: Unhasty allies may be assigned to skirmishes when at their home sites.

All keywords other than those above are unloaded, and have no inherent effect.

Well done, Sammy.  Helpin' a noob out like that.

January 19, 2010, 10:51:19 AM
Reply #5

Witchkingx5

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1159
Re: Quick noob question...
« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2010, 10:51:19 AM »
Yep, have a :gp:

January 19, 2010, 12:10:57 PM
Reply #6

timmyd42

  • Guest
Re: Quick noob question...
« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2010, 12:10:57 PM »
Thanks for the info.  This helps out a lot.  The game is very interesting, I only wish I had gotten involved earlier when there was more support (and product) from the makers. It's a little overwhelming looking at the entire product base while starting from scratch.  Thanks again for the help.

January 19, 2010, 03:37:46 PM
Reply #7

OneFathom

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Bowman
  • Posts: 407
Re: Quick noob question...
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2010, 03:37:46 PM »
TimmyD:

Dude, send me your address via PM.  I'll send you a bunch of my old rares, free of charge.  Welcome to the game!

January 19, 2010, 05:32:46 PM
Reply #8

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Re: Quick noob question...
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2010, 05:32:46 PM »

Muster - At the start of the regroup phase, you may discard a card to draw a card (all your muster discards must take place simultaneously, prior to drawing any such cards).

Someone told me that nothing in LotR TCG happens simulatneosly. Is this an exception?
Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)

January 19, 2010, 07:21:22 PM
Reply #9

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: Quick noob question...
« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2010, 07:21:22 PM »
It simply means you have to discard all the cards from all the relevant muster characters you are using, not discard 1, draw 1, discard 1, draw 1...etc etc.
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

January 19, 2010, 11:49:31 PM
Reply #10

legolas3333

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2152
Re: Quick noob question...
« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2010, 11:49:31 PM »
correct me if i'm wrong but i thought that if you have three characters with muster you can choose to use only two of them right?
A Promo Saved is a Promo Earned

January 20, 2010, 03:39:25 AM
Reply #11

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Re: Quick noob question...
« Reply #11 on: January 20, 2010, 03:39:25 AM »
Definition of muster says "you may" which means you can choose to use it or not. So you can have 9 characters with muster but choose not to use any of them (9 musters are pointless any way, since you can have a maximum of 8 cards in your hand at the end of the regroup phase).
Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)

January 20, 2010, 03:45:50 AM
Reply #12

legolas3333

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2152
Re: Quick noob question...
« Reply #12 on: January 20, 2010, 03:45:50 AM »
yeah i get that, but if i have 3 characters with muster can i choose to discard 2 to draw 2 or must i use all 3?
A Promo Saved is a Promo Earned

January 20, 2010, 04:49:07 AM
Reply #13

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Re: Quick noob question...
« Reply #13 on: January 20, 2010, 04:49:07 AM »
Of course! Sorry for not clearing it up enough ;)

You can perform any combination. Each muster action is an action for itself.
Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)

January 20, 2010, 12:47:13 PM
Reply #14

legolas3333

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2152
Re: Quick noob question...
« Reply #14 on: January 20, 2010, 12:47:13 PM »
ok cause the way i was reading the jords post made me think you had to use all or none of them
A Promo Saved is a Promo Earned