LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Tom Bombadil  (Read 3545 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

March 22, 2010, 11:30:00 AM
Read 3545 times

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Tom Bombadil
« on: March 22, 2010, 11:30:00 AM »
Let's say Rallying call is in play => threats cannot be removed by Free Peoples cards
If I as a Free Peoples player have 2 threats and no burdens, can I play Tom Bombadil?

Tom Bombadil is a Free Peoples card, so you're probably thinking why the #$&*@! am I even asking that question...

well... what confuses me is the fact that removing the threats is not an effect of Tom Bombadil, but the cost of playing him and that is, to my knowledge, the only Free Peoples card that has removing burdens or threats as a cost.

So, can I play him?
Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)

March 22, 2010, 11:43:12 AM
Reply #1

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Tom Bombadil
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2010, 11:43:12 AM »
No you can't.

Rallying Call doesn't care whether you're removing threats as a cost, effect or anything in between - you can't remove threats with Free Peoples cards period. Trying to play Tom Bombadil in that situation is exactly the same as trying to play Elrond, Lord of Rivendell without an Elf or Gandalf, ie. you can't.

Thranduil

March 22, 2010, 12:15:50 PM
Reply #2

Sam, Great Elf Warrior

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Horseman
  • Posts: 303
Re: Tom Bombadil
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2010, 12:15:50 PM »
I second Thraunduil's interpretation. Removing 2 threats (or 2 burdens) is the cost of playing Tom Bombadil, you can't remove 2 threats or burdens, so you can't play Tom Bombadil. It's the same as if you have no threats or burdens. If you really want to be sure you can play Tom Bombadil, use a ring that lets you add burdens.

March 22, 2010, 01:41:03 PM
Reply #3

putridbreath

  • ***
  • Information Offline
  • Troll
  • Posts: 156
Re: Tom Bombadil
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2010, 01:41:03 PM »
or bid two burdens to start play

March 22, 2010, 02:24:28 PM
Reply #4

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Tom Bombadil
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2010, 02:24:28 PM »
or bid two burdens to start play

Watch out for [Sauron] (or other, of course) cards that remove burdens, though.
-wtk

March 22, 2010, 02:51:51 PM
Reply #5

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Re: Tom Bombadil
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2010, 02:51:51 PM »
No you can't.

Rallying Call doesn't care whether you're removing threats as a cost, effect or anything in between - you can't remove threats with Free Peoples cards period. Trying to play Tom Bombadil in that situation is exactly the same as trying to play Elrond, Lord of Rivendell without an Elf or Gandalf, ie. you can't.

Thranduil

Thank you. I thought as much, although it confused me whether Tom Bombadil is really the source of threat removal, but now when I think about it, what else could be the source.
Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)

March 22, 2010, 03:09:06 PM
Reply #6

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Tom Bombadil
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2010, 03:09:06 PM »
No you can't.

Rallying Call doesn't care whether you're removing threats as a cost, effect or anything in between - you can't remove threats with Free Peoples cards period. Trying to play Tom Bombadil in that situation is exactly the same as trying to play Elrond, Lord of Rivendell without an Elf or Gandalf, ie. you can't.

Thranduil

Thank you. I thought as much, although it confused me whether Tom Bombadil is really the source of threat removal, but now when I think about it, what else could be the source.
The source of anything is the card on which it is printed. That's the general rule, which should hopefully make sense for the future.

Thranduil