LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Question about Hrethel  (Read 4296 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

August 11, 2008, 12:15:35 PM
Read 4296 times

Pepin The Breve

  • Well-spoken Gentlehobbit
  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 503
Question about Hrethel
« on: August 11, 2008, 12:15:35 PM »
   Hetrhel special hability says: "Skirmish: Heal a minion skirmishing Hrethel to make Hrethel strenght +3 (limit +3)". I have heard some people saying that you can use his hability even in a non wounded minion, is that correct? 

   I don´t think so cause heal is the cost and the pump is the effect, so if you cannot pay the cost then you can´t perform the effects. Or is this one of that cases that you just "do something for no effect"? I hope you can give me some clarifications on this. References to the rulebook (if possible and needed) will be apreciated too   :up:

 

August 11, 2008, 12:25:12 PM
Reply #1

Ulmo

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 141
Re: Question about Hrethel
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2008, 12:25:12 PM »
In that case, if there is no wound to heal, Hrethel would always be strength 9, doesn't make much sense if there is no cost.    I just played him today, great if he is mounted, exert minion at assignment, heal to pump.   :)
There are only 10 kinds of people in the world.  Those who know binary and those who don't.
You don't have a backpack. What you have there is an invisible leather TARDIS.

August 11, 2008, 12:31:57 PM
Reply #2

Elf_Lvr

  • ******
  • Information Offline
  • Lord
  • Posts: 3628
  • Rhythmic Ringwraith
Re: Question about Hrethel
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2008, 12:31:57 PM »
Since it says "Do X to do Y" you have to perform the first action to get the second action. It is the cost of the ability and HAS to be performed before you get any effect.

That argument says, "If you can't do X you move on and do Y." But that's wrong, because X is a cost.

Look at Gimli, Son of Gloin. If you can't exert him (do to exhaustion, perhaps) you can't go on and make him strength +2 by saying "I would exert him if I could, but I can't."

The confusion sort of comes because healing is a beneficial action while exerting isn't, in a way. But, in a pretty recent question (presented by Mr. Ironfoot, I think) you CANT heal a minion/companion with no wounds.

If it said "Do X and do Y" you would be able to do one even if you couldn't do the other.

Make sense?
Happy Hunting!
Remember Cobracards.com.
Thou cannot unjack what doth hath been jacked. - Menace64
"To die's the day worth livin' for!"
Maybe you guys can find a bard and have your story of heroic Balrog proximity put into verse.

August 11, 2008, 12:43:37 PM
Reply #3

Ulmo

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 141
Re: Question about Hrethel
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2008, 12:43:37 PM »
Does the limit +3 refer to the strength or number of times the action can be performed, assuming 3 wounds on minion?
There are only 10 kinds of people in the world.  Those who know binary and those who don't.
You don't have a backpack. What you have there is an invisible leather TARDIS.

August 11, 2008, 12:46:29 PM
Reply #4

Pepin The Breve

  • Well-spoken Gentlehobbit
  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 503
Re: Question about Hrethel
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2008, 12:46:29 PM »
No sense at all... ;D

I agree totally with you guys, just posted it here to get a second opinion...

The +3 refers to the max pump you can do in each skirmish, so you can pump the old man +3 just once...

Thanks for the light!  :up:

August 11, 2008, 01:35:51 PM
Reply #5

SomeRandomDude

  • ********
  • Information Offline
  • Maia
  • Posts: 7004
  • Most Likely To Usurp Kralik and Dáin
    • My Wordpress
Re: Question about Hrethel
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2008, 01:35:51 PM »
You can continue to heal a Shelob with 7 wounds, though, should it be helpful.
NB- 4 year veteran of CC/TLHH

"It was like:
Kralik: "What hath God wrought"
NB: "I dunno, but I'm in ur house eating ur food.""
-Elessar's Socks

Trade List- ft. Aragorn, Defender of Rohan

August 11, 2008, 01:54:19 PM
Reply #6

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: Question about Hrethel
« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2008, 01:54:19 PM »
You can continue to heal a Shelob with 7 wounds, though, should it be helpful.

Or Sauron, The Lord of the Rings! Keep him from being too powerful that way. ;)