LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Is this legit? if so that is pretty awesome and perhaps broken at the same time.  (Read 2641 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

December 04, 2011, 10:09:16 PM
Read 2641 times

NappyKorn

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1284
  • The ShizKnight
Please give verification some how instead of just I think so because. I know tons of people on here can read the rulebook for better than myself (especially since I no longer own any of them).


Situation:

Gandalf, Powerful Guide, Erland, Dale Counselor are at a site. Gandalf has Radagast's herb bag on (of course) erland is fighting lets say sauron (for the sake of argument). He exerts Erland to grab Strength of Spirit and immediately  plays it to prevent the exertion he just added to grab strength of spirit. He removes the exertion and does it over and over adding exertions on Powerful Guide and burdens on the Ring-bearer until Sauron is dead.

Question is I guess can the exertion be prevented from Erland from an event (spell) that he is grabbing from that exertion? If so that is pretty awesome. Basically Erland exerts grabs that event from discard pile (basically heals) then Powerful Guide can trigger off that spell being played. Seems pretty OP to me, but hey this is LotRTCG and expanded after all.

Please let me know and please add something from the rules that verifies the fact that you can respond to the exertion with a card you are grabbing from your discard pile. I can see how that would work if strength of spirit was in your hand, but being able to grab it from your discard pile and preventing the exertion from an action that grabbed that card seems a bit wrong. Once again if this is legal that is so awesome and hats off to those who have thought of this before hand :up:.

NK

Edit:

Nevermind just read Strength of Spirit with the auto-link. Clearly he can't prevent that exertion cause it is no longer about to happen it already has. If I am wrong on this let me know.

Guess you could exert erland twice to grab 2 from discard pile and then use those 2 events (spells) to grab 2 other spells, but not nearly as powerful as the other way :up:. Grnted the other way was limited by exertions to Powerful guide and Burdens you could add but both of those coulda been overcome as well.

Anyway let me know which way is correct, but im almost certain the correct way is in the edit.

Thanks,

NK
« Last Edit: December 04, 2011, 10:12:55 PM by NappyKorn »
If a Balrog falls from a bridge and noone is around, does it make a sound?

December 04, 2011, 10:15:39 PM
Reply #1

jcb213

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Villager
  • Posts: 202
Erland can only take skirmish events into hand and Strength of Spirit isn't a skirmish event, so it doesn't work at all.

December 04, 2011, 10:18:29 PM
Reply #2

NappyKorn

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1284
  • The ShizKnight
Ah, overlooking the obvious for the not so obvious. Thanks for pointing this out :up: Have a :gp: for the fast reply.

NK
If a Balrog falls from a bridge and noone is around, does it make a sound?

December 05, 2011, 01:40:57 AM
Reply #3

Ringbearer

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 709
Even if it was a skirmish event, the exertion is a cost you pay before the action, so he cant use the strength he just grabbed, cause its not in his hand yet. If you had 2, AND if it was a skirmish event, then it would be another beefcake.