LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Lurtz, Resilient Captain and exhausting  (Read 2317 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

December 05, 2013, 04:04:37 AM
Read 2317 times

c_c_j

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 20
Lurtz, Resilient Captain and exhausting
« on: December 05, 2013, 04:04:37 AM »
Hi! I've been a player since the end of Towers block, and a longtime lurker of LOTR TCG forums. I think it's my first time to post here.

Anyway, I was looking at A Rangers Versatility and was thinking of using it in a deck. Now, I'm wondering, can this card be used to exhaust Lurtz, Resilient Captain, or can Lurtz use his ability to prevent himself from being exhausted?
Lurtz's gametext says:  "Response: If Lurtz is about to take a wound or be exerted, remove (2) (or exert another Uruk-hai) to prevent that wound or exertion." The rulebook says: "To exhaust a character means to exert that character as many times as you can. Example: If a card tells you to exhaust a character with a vitality of 3, then you must exert that character 2 times by placing 2 wound tokens."

So, if I play ARV, do I just exert Lurtz two times (and the Shadow player can prevent both) or do I "exert as many times as I can" if the Shadow player tries to prevent the exertions?

December 05, 2013, 05:35:10 AM
Reply #1

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: Lurtz, Resilient Captain and exhausting
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2013, 05:35:10 AM »
Lurtz can still use his ability if the Shadow player wishes, but ARV will continue to try to exhaust him until the Shadow player can no longer pay for Lurtz's ability. So unless the Shadow player really wants to empty out the twilight pool, using Lurtz against ARV is futile.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

December 05, 2013, 07:07:43 AM
Reply #2

c_c_j

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 20
Re: Lurtz, Resilient Captain and exhausting
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2013, 07:07:43 AM »
Thanks for clearing that up! That's what I also thought initially, but reading the example in the rulebook got me confused. haha. Thanks again!