LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Vision From Afar  (Read 5033 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

February 05, 2009, 04:08:25 PM
Read 5033 times

Gerontius

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Horseman
  • Posts: 308
Vision From Afar
« on: February 05, 2009, 04:08:25 PM »
I have one more rules question..........
If I have 2 easterlings out and my opponent assigns one to the Ringbearer, can I interrupt the assignment phase with vision from afar and "swarm" the ringbearer?
Or, what if I have 2 copies of Vision From Afar in hand?

February 05, 2009, 04:14:29 PM
Reply #1

Elrohir

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 575
  • If you want him, come and claim him!
    • Elrohir wants some cards
Re: Vision From Afar
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2009, 04:14:29 PM »
"Assingment" actions take place, before the Free People players assigns the minions.

But: If a character is already assigned, you can not assign him to another skirmish by an assignment action.
You gave away your life's grace. I cannot protect you anymore.

February 05, 2009, 04:30:53 PM
Reply #2

Gerontius

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Horseman
  • Posts: 308
Re: Vision From Afar
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2009, 04:30:53 PM »
Thanks.

February 06, 2009, 02:59:16 AM
Reply #3

leokula

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 870
Re: Vision From Afar
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2009, 02:59:16 AM »
Or, what if I have 2 copies of Vision From Afar in hand?

You use the first one: if the FP player adds aburden, then you can try again with the second.. otherwise there's no point in playing it again ;)

February 26, 2009, 08:33:34 AM
Reply #4

Imrahil

  • ***
  • Information Offline
  • Troll
  • Posts: 164
Re: Vision From Afar
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2009, 08:33:34 AM »
so, if I've got a Bill Ferny (first set) and a Witch-King out there, I can't let the freep player assign "the king" and then assign Ferny in the same skirmish, can I?
Never under any circumstances take a sleeping pill and a laxative on the same night.

-Dave Barry

February 26, 2009, 09:27:39 AM
Reply #5

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Vision From Afar
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2009, 09:27:39 AM »
so, if I've got a Bill Ferny (first set) and a Witch-King out there, I can't let the freep player assign "the king" and then assign Ferny in the same skirmish, can I?
Well no, but that's for 2 different reasons, 1) because unless a companion has defender bonuses, it can only be assigned to 1 minion by the FP player and 2) because Bill Ferny forbids the Free Peoples player from assigning him to a skirmish in the first place.

However, in your example, FP player assigns Witch-King to say, Aragorn, then you get to put Bill wherever you like, even on Aragorn.

Thranduil

February 26, 2009, 01:55:21 PM
Reply #6

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Vision From Afar
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2009, 01:55:21 PM »
Leftover minions (minions still unassigned when the Free Peoples player is done making assignments) can be assigned anywhere the Shadow player wishes, including to an already assigned companion. That's usually the case with Ferny.

Also I think the ruling went that neither player can use assignment actions (special abilities, events) to assign a minion to an already assigned companion, even if that companion has a defender bonus. To do this both must be unassigned. Just in case that comes up.

February 27, 2009, 12:45:10 AM
Reply #7

lem0nhead

  • Vegetarian Cannibal
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4205
  • Juicy Fruit
Re: Vision From Afar
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2009, 12:45:10 AM »
Also I think the ruling went that neither player can use assignment actions (special abilities, events) to assign a minion to an already assigned companion, even if that companion has a defender bonus. To do this both must be unassigned. Just in case that comes up.

Yup all assignments are done on a one to one basis, unless there are more minions than companions after assignment actions and the freeps player has finished assigning.
Ban shampoo, demand real poo.
That's like having "Some Who Ride Ponies" as a Rohan follower. ~ Dain Ironfoot.

May 19, 2009, 06:00:35 PM
Reply #8

Alkarin

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Orc
  • Posts: 39
Re: Vision From Afar
« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2009, 06:00:35 PM »
sorry for the ask.. but if my opponent have 2 gorgoroth assassin in play, he can assign both to same companion?  or he only can do this if the companion have def+1 bonus?

May 19, 2009, 07:37:51 PM
Reply #9

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Vision From Afar
« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2009, 07:37:51 PM »
Juicy Fruit said it. ;) The exact quote from the rulebook goes: "Many assignment actions assign a minion to a companion. You cannot do this unless both of them are unassigned."

Your opponent won't be able to assign both Assassins to the same companion (with their assignment actions), even if the companion has a defender bonus.

May 20, 2009, 08:25:45 AM
Reply #10

Alkarin

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Orc
  • Posts: 39
Re: Vision From Afar
« Reply #10 on: May 20, 2009, 08:25:45 AM »
i think in the same way... thanks!!