LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Charged Headlong  (Read 4314 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

November 19, 2009, 04:01:02 PM
Read 4314 times

MuadDib85

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 940
Charged Headlong
« on: November 19, 2009, 04:01:02 PM »
Charged Headlong

Can you use this to discard a Dernhelm's Blade from play, and then play the same Dernhelm's Blade that was just discarded for another wound?


November 19, 2009, 04:10:31 PM
Reply #1

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Charged Headlong
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2009, 04:10:31 PM »
You would need an extra copy of Eowyn's Sword, Dernhelm's Blade in the discard pile.
-wtk

November 19, 2009, 04:11:23 PM
Reply #2

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Charged Headlong
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2009, 04:11:23 PM »
No - its cost doesn't change its effect. I can't think of any examples right now, but there definitely is a prime one that may have been dealt with before. But the answer is no. Ket is right.

Thranduil

November 19, 2009, 04:13:28 PM
Reply #3

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Charged Headlong
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2009, 04:13:28 PM »
Great example is They Are Coming. You cannot play an Orc if it is one of the three cards you discarded.
-wtk

November 19, 2009, 04:14:43 PM
Reply #4

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Charged Headlong
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2009, 04:14:43 PM »
Yep - that's the one! Thanks ket.

Thranduil

November 20, 2009, 11:57:05 PM
Reply #5

Gil-Estel

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2267
  • Abuser of the Force
Re: Charged Headlong
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2009, 11:57:05 PM »
Other good example is Ulaire Toldea, Black Shadow. If you play him with a Dark Approach, you cannot take the Dark Approach back. That card is in the void, nowhere to be found so to say.
..."Elves seldom give unguarded advice, for advice is a dangerous gift, even from the wise to the wise, and all courses may run ill"...

November 21, 2009, 01:37:18 AM
Reply #6

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Charged Headlong
« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2009, 01:37:18 AM »
The "effect" entry has more details on exceptions, but the following applies here: "If an action plays a card from your hand (or discard pile) as part of its effect, then that card must be in your hand (or discard pile) before you can begin to perform that action."

I think GE's example falls under the "playing a card" rules instead, where Dark Approach is being played, but is discarded only after its effects are performed. Like he said though, Toldea can't grab the Dark Approach used to play him with his own effect.

November 21, 2009, 03:23:07 AM
Reply #7

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Charged Headlong
« Reply #7 on: November 21, 2009, 03:23:07 AM »
Gil-Estel's example was nearly perfect for this scenario. :gp:!
-wtk