LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Trust me as you once did  (Read 3392 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

January 02, 2011, 12:33:45 PM
Read 3392 times

macheteman

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1938
Trust me as you once did
« on: January 02, 2011, 12:33:45 PM »
Hey guys. i would like a very clear definition of how this card works. i looked through the old archives, but i still don't quite understand. ok, lets say i have 2x trust me and i can spot at least 3 gandy sigs.

the way i have been playing is this: i assign minions, if i use both copies in the first skirmish (for +6) then i can't use them again until the fierce skirmishes. at wish point its a 2nd skirmish phase and they reset so that i can use them again. i'm not sure this is right, but it seems a happy medium, so i've been playing that way to not make anyone mad.

other people have said that they can be used during each skirmish. as in: i exert gandy twice to pump gorn +6 and then again to pump lego +6.

i've also heard each copy can only be used once for the whole site. as is: once its used, it doesn't matter if there is a fierce minion, it doesn't reset.

i'd appreciate some clarification so that i can actually know what i'm doing.

thanks

-mm

oh, and just to be double sure: cavern entrance stops trust me from being used, correct?
« Last Edit: January 02, 2011, 12:36:14 PM by macheteman »

January 02, 2011, 02:11:08 PM
Reply #1

HawkeyeSPF

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 639
Re: Trust me as you once did
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2011, 02:11:08 PM »
Quote from: Comprehensive Rules 4.0, Page 13, Column 1: Limit
limit
When a card has a limit, such as "(limit +3)," the limit applies to that card for an entire phase.
Trust Me As You Once Did reads: "Skirmish: Exert Gandalf to make a companion strength +1 for each companion with the Gandalf signet you can spot (limit +3)." With one copy in play, assuming you have sufficient signets and exertions, during a single skirmish phase:
• You may add +3 to one companion in a single action (if you can spot at least 3 signets).
• You may add +1 to three different companions in three different actions (if you can spot only 1 signet).
• You may add +2 to one companion and +1 to another in two different actions (if you can spot only 2 signets). Once the limit is reached, no more may be added, and the last +1 is ignored.
A limit does not does not span multiple phases.
Trust Me As You Once Did could be used for +3 in each of two or more separate skirmish phases during the same turn.
A limit does not apply to a different copy of the same card.
With two copies of Trust Me As You Once Did in play, you could give up to +6 in strength bonuses during a single skirmish phase (+3 from one copy, and +3 from the other).

Fierce skirmishes are still happening in the same phase as the first skirmishes, so you cannot use them both in the first set of skirmishes and then both again in the fierce.

Well, I guess I didn't realize that each skirmish is in itself a separate skirmish phase, so Tbiesty is right, you can use one or both in every single skirmish, as long as you have the exertions to use.
« Last Edit: January 02, 2011, 05:07:56 PM by HawkeyeSPF »

January 02, 2011, 02:39:06 PM
Reply #2

Tbiesty

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 561
Re: Trust me as you once did
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2011, 02:39:06 PM »
Each skirmish (whether regular or fierce) is a separate Skirmish phase.  The limit resets for each separate Skirmish phase.

January 02, 2011, 03:12:00 PM
Reply #3

macheteman

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1938
Re: Trust me as you once did
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2011, 03:12:00 PM »
sweet

January 02, 2011, 05:24:06 PM
Reply #4

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Trust me as you once did
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2011, 05:24:06 PM »
Not to get involved late, but this was specifically answered just a week or two ago.
-wtk

January 03, 2011, 02:01:38 PM
Reply #5

macheteman

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1938
Re: Trust me as you once did
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2011, 02:01:38 PM »
i read that, and then got confused when you said this:

Keep in mind that each skirmish is its own phase.
-wtk

but i'm all set now.

January 03, 2011, 02:40:00 PM
Reply #6

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Trust me as you once did
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2011, 02:40:00 PM »
Hooray! Acknowledgement!
-wtk