LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Suffered Much Loss  (Read 2578 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

November 16, 2011, 07:42:53 AM
Read 2578 times

Panch

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 101
  • Honorable lord
Suffered Much Loss
« on: November 16, 2011, 07:42:53 AM »
Seen a couple posts about this card and its back and forth between its a "battleground" and not if its controlled and in your support area. Well which one is it?

and Gimli's helm from set one. If threats go off, can i assign all of the threats to him and then discard the helm to prevent it?
"The man who passes the sentence should swing the sword."- Eddard Stark

November 16, 2011, 09:29:27 AM
Reply #1

Air Power

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 771
Re: Suffered Much Loss
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2011, 09:29:27 AM »
I don't have an AR quotation for this, but wounds are assigned one at a time and the helm is not a response, therefore:

You must assign a wound for each threat (if possible), so if you have already discarded the helm, you cannot assign wounds to Gimli (because the wounds are prevented), therefore the wounds must be assigned to another companion (assuming any exist).  If Gimli is your only companion, yes, you will not be able to place wounds.

If you haven't discarded the helm, you can assign a wound to Gimli, but you won't get a chance to discard the helm until after the wound is placed.
"If the world becomes pagan and perishes, the last man left alive would do well to quote the Iliad and die." -G.K. Chesterton, The Everlasting Man

November 16, 2011, 10:01:56 AM
Reply #2

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Suffered Much Loss
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2011, 10:01:56 AM »
Controlled sites won't receive the battleground keyword from Suffered Much Loss, as they are no longer "on the adventure path."

You can discard Gimli's Helm and then assign all threat wounds in that skirmish phase to him, preventing them all. If you don't discard the Helm, he can take at most one threat wound (assuming he hasn't been wounded yet that skirmish phase), and the rest cannot be assigned to him.

November 16, 2011, 10:58:55 AM
Reply #3

Air Power

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 771
Re: Suffered Much Loss
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2011, 10:58:55 AM »
Controlled sites won't receive the battleground keyword from Suffered Much Loss, as they are no longer "on the adventure path."

You can discard Gimli's Helm and then assign all threat wounds in that skirmish phase to him, preventing them all. If you don't discard the Helm, he can take at most one threat wound (assuming he hasn't been wounded yet that skirmish phase), and the rest cannot be assigned to him.

You're right.  I went through the comprehensive rules (not that I don't trust you, but this seemed counter-intuitive) and found:

"If a character cannot take wounds, wounds
cannot be assigned to that character. However,
if a card prevents wounds, wounds may still be
assigned to that character"

(page 18)
"If the world becomes pagan and perishes, the last man left alive would do well to quote the Iliad and die." -G.K. Chesterton, The Everlasting Man